glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jesus took upon himself the divine punishment of sin

It is 1:52 PM Thursday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is 36 degrees and cloudy presently, no blowing snow or ice rain visible from our living room windows. We have been foretold to expect a Winter storm to hit us tomorrow, so we will wait and see what develops.

I got up this morning around 7:17 AM. I did not want to get up, but I am not one to stay in bed all morning. So I got up and came upstairs to find Carol writing a letter to a friend who lives in Texas. Carol and I lived in Houston TX for five years and Carol has folks she is still with in contact from TX. I try to forget Texas and focus on Eternity, the mansions of Glory.

Carol left early this morning to do errands. While she was gone I wrote in my paper diary and read till 1:30 PM, 'New Testament Theology' by Eckhard J. Schnabel. Last night I mainly read before going to bed, 'The Maverick-George Weidenfeld and the Golden Age of Publishing' biography by Thomas Harding. I also read, 'The Emergence of Evangelical Spirituality-The Age of Edwards, Newton, and Whitefield' [The Classics of Western Spirituality].

I do not know what I will read this afternoon or tonight. I am tired.

Jesus, whose blood so freely streamed
To satisfy the law’s demand;
By Thee from guilt and wrath redeemed,
Before the Father’s face I stand.

To reconcile offending man,
Make Justice drop her angry rod;
What creature could have formed the plan,
Or who fulfill it but a God?

No drop remains of all the curse,
For wretches who deserved the whole;
No arrows dipped in wrath to pierce
The guilty, but returning soul.

Peace by such means so dearly bought,
What rebel could have hoped to see?
Peace by his injured sovereign wrought,
His sovereign fastened to a tree.

Now, Lord, Thy feeble worm prepare!
For strife with earth and hell begins;
Conform and gird me for the war;
They hate the soul that hates his sins.

Let them in horrid league agree!
They may assault, they may distress;
But cannot quench Thy love to me,
Nor rob me of the Lord my peace.

2:04 p.m. - 2024-01-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act