glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I come to Thee for rest

It is 2:56 PM Tuesday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is a cold snowy day. It has been predicted to snow all week. Really the snow is a mixture of snow and ice/snow rain. Right now the roads are basically slushy.

I got up this morning around 8:15 AM. Carol and I went to bed late before we watched the Michigan & Washington College Football Championship Game. I think Carol and I got to bed around 11:30 PM last night.

I spent the morning mainly writing in my paper diary, Carol and I had devotions, and I read till 2:55 PM. Not much else to report this afternoon. This afternoon I have been reading, 'Francis Bacon: Anatomy Of An Enigma' biography by Michael Peppiatt. This morning I read 'The Humbled Sinner Resolved What He Should Do to Be Saved' by Obadiah Sedgwick till Noontime.

Last night while watching college football I read, 'The Valley of the Fallen' historical fiction by Carlos Rojas Translated From The Spanish by Edith Grossman.

Well, I will close to drift. Soon time will be no more.

Approach, my soul, the mercy seat,
Where Je­sus an­swers pray­er;
There hum­bly fall be­fore His feet,
For none can per­ish there.

Thy pro­mise is my on­ly plea,
With this I ven­ture nigh;
Thou call­est bur­dened souls to Thee,
And such, O Lord, am I.

Bowed down be­neath a load of sin,
By Sa­tan sore­ly pressed,
By war with­out and fears with­in,
I come to Thee for rest.

Be Thou my shield and hid­ing place,
That, shel­tered by Thy side,
I may my fierce ac­cus­er face,
And tell him Thou hast died!

O won­drous love! to bleed and die,
To bear the cross and shame,
That guil­ty sin­ners, such as I,
Might plead Thy gra­cious name.

Poor tem­pest toss­èd soul, be still;
My pro­mised grace re­ceive;
’Tis Je­sus speaks—I must, I will,
I can, I do be­lieve.

3:07 p.m. - 2024-01-09

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act