glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the significance of the hipster

It is 1:34 PM Saturday afternoon here in Western Michigan. My assumption is that we will live out our remaining days here and will be buried. I do not believe in the doctrine of cremation. The body is sacred and should be destroyed by fire. Why offer up ones body to a fiery sacrifice to death?

I got up this morning around 7:17 AM. When I came upstairs I found my wife soaking her feet. I wrote in my paper diary and then prepared a pot of oatmeal for breakfast. After breakfast Carol and I had devotions and then prayed together. This year 2024 Carol and I will have been married 45 years. I wonder if we will celebrate 50 years of marriage? In five years if we live if I live I will 77 years old.

I spent the morning basically writing in my paper diary and reading, 'The Decades of Henry Bullinger' Volume One. This afternoon I watched on Youtube a lecture given by the Historian Tom Holland titled, 'Puritanism and iconoclasm' and then got out to read, 'Lies And Sorcery' A Novel by Elsa Morante Translated By Jenny McPhee. Last night I read from these books before going to bed, 'The End' A Novel by Attila Bartis, 'The End of Solitude-Selected Essays on Culture and Society' by William Deresiewicz, and 'General Directions For A Comfortable Walking With God' by Robert Bolton.

Late this afternoon Carol and I plan to watch Professional Football. Tomorrow will be a Sunday. World history keeps going by.


Christian Church History Timeline
Apostolic Age (30-99)
Early Church Era (101-284)
Christendom Begins (301-480)
Late Ancient Era (524-732)
Early Middle Ages (754-1273)
Late Middle Ages (1309-1512)
Reformation Era (1516-1587)
Post-Reformation Era (1603-1773)
Early Modern Era (1783-1865)
Late Modern Era (1870-1945)
Post-WWII Era (1947-2017)

1:56 p.m. - 2024-01-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act