glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Rock of Ages a hymn by Augustus Toplady

Rock of Ag­es, cleft for me,
Let me hide my­self in Thee;
Let the wa­ter and the blood,
From Thy wound­ed side which flowed,
Be of sin the dou­ble cure;
Save from wrath and make me pure.

Not the la­bor of my hands
Can ful­fill Thy law’s de­mands;
Could my zeal no res­pite know,
Could my tears for­ev­er flow,
All for sin could not atone;
Thou must save, and Thou alone.

Nothing in my hand I bring,
Simply to the cross I cling;
Naked, come to Thee for dress;
Helpless look to Thee for grace;
Foul, I to the foun­tain fly;
Wash me, Sav­ior, or I die.

While I draw this fleet­ing breath,
When mine eyes shall close in death*,
When I soar to worlds un­known,
See Thee on Thy judg­ment throne,
Rock of Ag­es, cleft for me,
Let me hide my­self in Thee.

10:31 a.m. - 2023-11-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act