glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a form of culture shock

It is 3:45 PM Monday afternoon on a sunny day. It is 76 degrees outside right now. A nice late Summer day here in Western Michigan.

I got up this morning around 6:20 AM. When I came upstairs I found Carol reading her Bible. I took my morning pills, wrote in my paper diary and then made a pot of oatmeal for breakfast. After breakfast Carol and I had devotions and then drove over to Grand Rapids MI because Carol wanted to go to The Feet Store and also check out bookstores. So Carol and I did that and we were home by 2:30 PM (Carol was at The Feet Store for over two hours/I went next door to Starbucks and got a mocha and a Danish and read, 'Losing Nelson' A Novel by Barry Unsworth).

Carol and I also went Trader Joe's while in Grand Rapids/at bookstores I found these books for my Library today-

'Theology In The Democracy Of The Dead: A Dialogue with the Living Tradition' by Matt Jenson

'The Sitwells: A Family's Biography' by John Pearson

'The Story of Creeds and Confessions: Tracing the Development of the Christian Faith' by Donald Fairbairn & Ryan M. Reeves

'Roth Unbound: A Writer And His Books' Literary Criticism by Claudia Roth Pierpont

'Justice and Charity: An Introduction to Aquinas's Moral, Economic, and Political Thought' by Michael P. Krom

'Walker Evans: A Biography' by Belinda Rathbone

'Union With Christ' by Norman F. Douty

'Gallimaufry: A Collection Of Essays, Reviews, Bits' by Joseph Epstein

Last night I mainly read late into the night, 'Cosmic Scholar: The Life And Times Of Harry Smith' biography by John Szwed.

I will close to face what comes down the road. This evening we are having a farewell for our neighbors who have sold their home and are moving into a condo. Carol and I are wondering what our new neighbor will be like/all we know is she is a single older woman who has a job here in town. I personally wonder how this new neighbor will be able to keep up with all the yard work that comes with this home.

4:10 p.m. - 2023-08-28

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act