glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

DO NOT TOUCH!

It is 3:14 PM Sunday afternoon here in Holland Michigan/a town close to Lake Michigan. Holland MI is a college town/Hope College/also Western Theological Seminary/seminary for the Reformed Church of America/Hope College is also attached to the Reformed Church of America/meaning Liberal. Carol said yesterday while she was downtown Hope College students were moving in/their parents were with them/downtown was filled with parents with their college ages children. Downtown Holland is a playground for the Rich, so college kids usually hang-out elsewhere/there are coffee cafes downtown/but very expensive shops downtown/there is a privately owned bookstore downtown called Reader's World-also very expensive.

Anyway here in Holland/we are townies meaning we live five minutes from downtown it is 76 degrees and sunny. One can feel Autumn in the air today. Today is the last Sunday of August 2023/next Sunday we will be in the month of September/the ninth month of the Year 2023. This morning I was up by 6:20 AM. When I came upstairs I found my wife having devotions. I wrote in my paper diary and made a pot of oatmeal for breakfast. After breakfast Carol and I talked/Carol read an Old Testament Psalm and from 'The Valley of Vision'/we had a season of prayer. Carol left for church early because she had stuff to do at her church before the prayer meeting.

I spent the morning mainly reading from a book titled, '"Voce Mea" Commentary On The Davidic Psalms' Volume IV Psalms 76-100 By Denis The Carthusian. I also read this morning from a book titled, 'The Wells of Salvation Opened' by William Spurstowe.

Carol got home from church around 12:50 PM. Carol ate lunch and is now reading a Mystery/she goes back to church this evening. I have been reading this afternoon that was delivered this afternoon by Amazon titled, 'Cosmic Scholar: The Life And Times Of Harry Smith/The Filmmaker, Folkorist, and Mystic Who Transformed American Art. Last night I started reading a used novel I bought yesterday for one dollar titled, 'Losing Nelson' A Novel by Barry Unsworth/I have six other novels by Unsworth in my library but this one is the first one I have attempted to actually read/right now I am reading too many books at one time/but who cares?

I suppose I will close to read and drift into the nighttime hours. We are in the Last Days of August 2023.

3:37 p.m. - 2023-08-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act