glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the theological life

It is 2:22 PM Thursday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is warm humid day and I am thankful I am not in a fire zone. I do not recall ever hearing the islands of Hawaii being on fire. There seems to be fires and floods everywhere these days. Creation is groaning under the weight of mankind's sin/the curses of the Covenant of Works.

I got up this morning around 6:15 AM. Once again I had a dream where I was in a huge building filled with pools of machinery oil and broken machines. I was wearing white clothes and yet I thought my job was cleaning oil off the cement floors and gather up broken machine parts. It was all very intense and absurd that dream. So I got up to find Carol getting ready for another day of our Life here on this fallen earth/a world filled with wickedness and ecological ruin.

Carol and I had devotions and then around 9:30 AM Carol's baby brother Cal showed up. Cal has an eye operation this morning at a near by hospital and is staying with us for the night/he can not drive home and his wife is too afraid to drive to pick Cal up/also Cal can rest here tonight and go to his follow-up appointment tomorrow at the hospital. While Carol was at the hospital with Cal I mowed our lawn back and front. After I finished mowing I sat out front recovering and then cleaned up.

Carol and Cal showed up around 12:40 PM and we all had a meal/lunch. Cal is now taking a nap and Carol is reading from a novel. I am down in the Lower Level writing in LJ Crookedfingers.

Carol and I did do an errand this afternoon and while out we stopped at Action House thrift store to look at their used books-I bought two used paperbacks there-

'The Middle Passage: The Caribbean Revisited' travel writing by V.S. Naipaul

'The Poser' A Novel by Jacob Rubin

Last night I mainly read from these two books-'The Story of Russia' non-fiction by Orland Figes and 'Goodbye, Eastern Europe-An Intimate History Of A Divided Land' by Jacob Mikanowski.

This morning for morning worship I read Denis The Carthusian's Commentary on the Davidic Psalms and also read some 17th century Dutch Reformed Theology.

I will close to drift Time is 2:39 PM. Nothing came in the mail today that would have blown me out of the water.

2:45 p.m. - 2023-08-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act