glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

blest are the men of broken heart

It is 2:08 PM Monday afternoon HERE in Western Michigan. It has been a normal day in this fallen world. I got up this morning around 8 o'clock AM. When I got up Carol was eating eggs and getting ready to do errands. Before she left we read the Bible, 'The Valley of Vision' and then closed in a season of prayer. It is sad to KNOW people all around me I have no hunger for God. They know nothing of the sweetness of drawing nigh unto the Lord Jesus in prayer.

While Carol was gone I wrote in my paper diary and read till 1 o'clock from a book titled, 'The Wells of Salvation Opened: A Treatise Discovering the Nature, Preciousness, Usefulness of Gospel Promises, and Rules for the Right Application of Them' by William Spurstowe.

Carol came home and she plans to leave in a few minutes to visit a cousin on her mother's side. I plan to read and write. Last night I mainly read 'The Wells of Salvation' and watched Youtube videos of old Tony Bennett concerts.

In the mail this afternoon I received an old used paperback I ordered titled, 'Serpent In Eden: H. L. Mencken and the South' literary study/biography by Fred Hobson.

I will close to wait on the Lord Jesus.

1112 L.M. Isaac Watts
Blessed are the poor in spirit. Matt. 5. 3-6

1 Blest are the humble souls that see
Their emptiness and poverty;
Treasures of grace to them are given,
And crowns of joy laid up in heaven.

2 Blest are the men of broken heart,
Who mourn for sin with inward smart;
The blood of Christ divinely flows,
A healing balm for all their woes.

3 Blest are the souls that thirst for grace,
Hunger and long for righteousness;
They shall be well supplied, and fed
With living streams and living bread.

"[46] And why call ye me, Lord, Lord, and do not the things which I say?
[47] Whosoever cometh to me, and heareth my sayings, and doeth them, I will shew you to whom he is like:
[48] He is like a man which built an house, and digged deep, and laid the foundation on a rock: and when the flood arose, the stream beat vehemently upon that house, and could not shake it: for it was founded upon a rock.
[49] But he that heareth, and doeth not, is like a man that without a foundation built an house upon the earth; against which the stream did beat vehemently, and immediately it fell; and the ruin of that house was great." Luke 6:46-49

2:26 p.m. - 2023-07-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act