glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a clearer sight of ordinary mysteries

It is 10:34 AM Saturday morning in the flow of existence. The word "existence" sounds so flat to me. The word "existence" sounds cold and forbidding. I am down in the basement writing on my lap top computer. Outside it is extremely cold and ugly. It is too cold and dark to go any where this morning. I volunteer at the library book nook this after from 2 o'clock PM till 4 o'clock PM.

This morning I got out of bed around 8 o'clock AM. Carol got home from work around 8:40 AM. She went to bed around 9 o'clock AM this morning. She worked 14 hours last night.

This morning I ate leftover pancakes for breakfast. I messed with our main computer and wrote a couple pages in my private diary. I woke up this morning feeling freaked, because my life will soon be over. I do not have a long time to live. My life is coming to a quick ending. Ones life is so quickly over and then the Day of Judgment. Scary. "If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us. If we confess our sins, He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness. If we say that we have not sinned, we make Him a liar, and His word is not in us" First John 1:8-10.

Last night I mainly read "My Love, My Sister" a novel by Joyce Carol Oates. I went to bed around 10 o'clock PM.

I have been reading this morning a book titled "Holy Wisdom Or Directions for the Prayer of Contemplation: Extracted out of more than Forty Treatises" by the Ven. Father F. Augustin Baker. I bought this old book many years ago and have read parts of it. I thought this morning I would try to read this book from cover to cover. I found this interesting from the book "Holy Wisdom"---

"12. Now not to forestall what is copiously delivered in the second treatise (to wit, that due obedience to all kind of superiors is so far from being prejudiced by this doctrine, that it is only by this doctrine that it is perfectly established, and all possible suspicions, all imaginary cases to the contrary solved): hereto it is answered that, whereas it is said that by a pretending to divine illumination, &c., a contempt may be cast upon the common doctrines and rules of faith and a good life, there is not the least ground for such an apprehension. For never did any spiritual mystic writer pretend to receive any new or formerly unknown lights or revelations in matters of faith, beyond what have been known and universally received in the Church. The lights which such persons by God gracious visits receive being only a clearer sight of ordinary mysteries; the which produces in them a firmer assent unto them, a greater love of them, an abhorring of all novelties of doctrines, and a most fervent zeal to the unity and peace of the Church, and to the reducing of all unbelievers, misbelievers, and schismatics, into its bosom and communion." Preface pg. 11

Well I will close to read and ponder. There is no way of escape.

"And this is the promise that He has promised us-eternal life. These things I have written to you concerning those who try to deceive you. But the anointing which you have received from Him abides in you, and you do not need that anyone teach you; but as the same anointing teaches you concerning all things, and is true, and is not a lie, and just as it has taught you, you will abide in Him" First John 2:25-27.

11:04 a.m. - 2010-12-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

joy-in-god
x--8letters
realthoughts
exegetical
msboston
journey2one
koorikaze
coldwars
freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
msjessica
broken-in-nc
trapeze-act
fan4
poolagirl
jedidiah77
oldjake
talktogod
silverluna
jondavid2010
newschick
kabukicharms