glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a gustful knowledge of all His infinite perfections

It is 4:42 PM Saturday evening. I am home from volunteering at the local library book nook. I got at the book nook around 1:30 PM and left around 4 o'clock PM. I sold some stuff and read "Holy Wisdom" by Augustin Baker. When I got home I found a cold quiet house. Rudy was waiting to greet me. Carol is still sleeping. I ate some food and wrote in my private diary. Now I am down in the basement writing some words out of habit. It is too early to go to bed.

I got two used paperbacks at the book nook this afternoon to ADD to my book collect "Therese" by Francois Mauriac and "Balzac and the Little Chinese Seamstress" a novel by Dai Sijie.

In the mail I got a Godspeed You! Black Emperor CD "Yanqui U.X.O." to add to my music collection. At the book nook this afternoon Carl who use to work at the Full Circle music shop came in to look at stuff. It was so good to see Carl and find out how he and his family were doing. Carl now works for the city of Holland.

I do not know what I will do this evening to keep myself awake? Well I will close with a quote from the book "Holy Wisdom".

"7. The effects of this blessed, perceptible presence of God in perfect souls are unspeakable and divine; for He is in them both as a principle of all their actions internal and external, being the life of their life and spirit of their spirits; and also as the end of them, directing both the actions and persons to Himself only. He is all in all things unto them: a light to direct securely all their steps, and to order all their workings, even those also which seem the most indifferent, the which by the guidance of God's Holy Spirit do cause a farther advancement of them to a yet more immediate union. He is a shield to protect them in all temptations and dangers, an internal force and vigour within them, to make them do and suffer all things whatsoever His pleasure is they should do or suffer. They not only believe and know, but even feel and taste Him to be the universal, infinite Good. By means of a continual conversation with Him they are reduced to a blessed state of a perfect denudation of spirit, to an absolute, internal solitude, a transcendancy and forgetfulness of all created things, and especially of themselves, to an heavenly-mindedness and fixed attention to God only, and this even in the midst of employments to others never so distractive; and finally, to a gustful knowledge of all His infinite perfections, and a strict application of their spirits by love above knowledge, joined with a fruition and repose in Him with the whole extent of their wills; so that they become after an inexpressible manner partakes of the divine nature; yea, one spirit, one will, one love with Him, being in a sort deified, and enjoying as much of heaven here as mortality is capable of." pg. 42 Ven. Father F. Augustin Baker

5:07 p.m. - 2010-12-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

joy-in-god
x--8letters
realthoughts
exegetical
msboston
journey2one
koorikaze
coldwars
freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
msjessica
broken-in-nc
trapeze-act
fan4
poolagirl
jedidiah77
oldjake
talktogod
silverluna
jondavid2010
newschick
kabukicharms