glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Israel \"patterning themselves after wandering spirits\" that are behind idols

It is 11 o'clock AM Wednesday morning in the flow of existence. I am in the basement writing down my life for the whole world to read. "Look, he is coming with the clouds, and every eye will see him, even those who pierced him; and all the peoples of the earth will mourn because of him. So shall it be! Amen." Rev. 1:7.

I got up this morning around 7 o'clock AM because I was tired of dreaming. When I got up I found my wife reading the Bible in the living room. I got myself a cup of coffee and sat across from her morning dreaming. Around 8 o'clock AM I went down in the basement to check for e-mail and read stuff on the internet.

Carol and I this morning took Rudy for a walk at Window on the Waterfront. On the way home we stopped at Lemonjello's coffee house and the Full Circle music shop. Now I am down in the basement drinking a mocha and listening to my inner voice.

Last night I watched television from 7:30 PM till 11 o'clock PM. I went to bed and read till 11:30 PM.

I have been reading these books mainly lately---

Bible Old Testament The Book of Deuteronomy

"Deuteronomy And The Death Of Moses" by Dennis T. Olson

"A Blue Hand: The Tragicomic, Mind-Altering Odyssey of Allen Ginsberg, a Holy Fool, a Rebel Muse, a Dharma Bum, and His Prickly Bride in India" by Deborah Baker

"We Become What We Worship: A Biblical Theology Of Idolatry" by G. K. Beale

"The Magic Mountain" a novel by Thomas Mann

Yesterday I realized that I forgot to mention another book I would grab if our house was on fire. I would grab a book titled "The Spiritual Espousals And Other Works" by John Ruusbroec (1293-1381) [The Classics Of Western Spirituality]. The writings of Ruusbroec are mind blowing. I personally believe Christians should have their minds blown.

Carol is upstairs doing stuff in the kitchen. I think she goes back to work tonight after being off three nights. Existence keeps flowing along full speed. "Since everything will be destroyed in this way, what kind of people ought you to be? You ought to live holy and godly lives! as you look forward to the day of God and speed its coming. That day will bring about destruction of the heavens by fire, and the elements will melt in the heat. But in keeping with his promise we are looking forward to a new heaven and a new earth, the home of righteousness." 2 Peter 3:11-13

Yesterday while talking to Matt at the Christian bookstore I mentioned a book that I forgot to list yesterday titled "Calvin's Calvinism: 1. The Eternal Predestination of God. 2. The Secret Providence of God" BY John Calvin. Someday I should reread this book on Eternal Predestination and on the Secret Providence of God.

On the doctrine of predestination one should read "Institutes of Elenctic Theology: Volume One: First Through Tenth Topics" by Francis Turretin FOURTH TOPIC The Decrees Of God In General And Predestination In Particular pg. 311-430. I always tell folks if you want to read a wonderful book on the doctrine of election read "A Discourse On Election" by Thomas Goodwin located in Volume Nine "The Collected Works of Thomas Goodwin"-read and then jump for joy (Phil 4:3,4 "whose names [are] in the Book of Life. Rejoice"]

Yesterday I mentioned how the 17 cent. English Puritans wrote some of the greatest books on the Holy Spirit. I will list some of the books that every tongue speaker should read---

"The Work Of The Holy Ghost In Our Salvation" by Thomas Goodwin located in Volume Six "The Works Of Thomas Goodwin"

In volume 3 of "The Works of Stephen Charnock" there are these discourses on The New Birth---

The Necessity Of Regeneration John III. 3, 5

A Discourse Of The Nature Of Regeneration 2 Cor. V. 17

A Discourse Of The Efficient Of Regeneration John I. 13

A Discourse Of The Word, The Instrument Of Regeneration James I. 18

I tell those folks seeking the second blessing to read these two volumes on the Holy Spirit by John Owen (1616-1683)---

Volume 3 of The Works of John Owen [16 Volumes] "Discourse on the Holy Spirit: His Name, Nature, Personality, Dispensation, Operations, and Effect"

Volume 4 The Reasons of Faith
On the Work of the Holy Spirit in Prayer
Of the Holy Spirit and His Work, as a Comforter and as the Author of Spiritual Gifts

I also recommend these modern books on the God the Holy Spirit---

"Perspectives On Pentecost: New Testament Teaching on the Gifts of the Holy Spirit" by Richard B. Gaffin Jr.

"God's Empowering Presence: The Holy Spirit In The Letters Of Paul" by Gordon D. Fee

"The Holy Spirit And Spiritual Gifts" by Max Turner

"Power from on High: The Spirit in Israel's Restoration and Witness in Luke-Acts" by Max Turner

"The Spirit in the Gospels and Acts: Divine Purity and Power" by Craig S. Keener

"Jesus And The Spirit: A Study of the Religious and Charismatic Experience of Jesus and the First Christians as Reflected in the New Testament" by James D. G. Dunn

"Light Of Truth & Fire Of Love: A Theology of the Holy Spirit" by Gary D. Badcock

"Ecstasy and Intimacy: When the Holy Spirit Meets the Human Spirit" by Edith M. Humphrey

"After the Spirit: A Constructive Pneumatology from Resources outside the Modern West" by Eugene F. Rogers Jr.

"The Holy Spirit" by F. LeRon Shults & Andrea Hollingsworth

It is 12:17 PM Wednesday afternoon. I need to close to regroup.

music: Arbouretum "Song of the Pearl"

12:32 p.m. - 2009-04-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts