glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the cessation of the charismata

It is 3:42 PM in the flow of existence. I am down in the basement writing on my lap top. Carol is sleeping and time just keeps ticking away.

I need to close to go do something before I get into writing down what I have done since I last wrote.

I went upstairs to take off my street clothes and put on my house clothes. I got to be comfortable when I write in my blogs. I thought of going back out into the world, but it is too late in the day for me. I need to gather my thoughts as we head into the evening hours.

This afternoon I drove over to see Mat at the Christian bookstore that is a few minutes from where we live. Last Sunday Mat had called to say hello to me so I decided at Noon to drive over to the Christian bookstore and say Hi to him. I got home from visiting Mat around 3 o'clock PM. When I got home I ate lunch and looked through the evening paper. Carol went to bed sometime this afternoon for a nap. She is off tonight from work as far as I know.

Mat talked to me this afternoon about Reformed theology and his life. I shared some of my thoughts as Mat talked. I have my opinions like everyone else in the Reformed world. I do not think anything new was uttered this afternoon between Mat and I. I have my rap and soon I am out of words. I kept telling Mat I am into Reality or being practical. I tell people to read the Bible and pray. How many Christians read the Bible and really pray? How many Christians live a devotional life?

Mat asked me to give him a list of books to read (top books I would recommend besides the Bible (NKJ version)).

I told Mat since I believe that the Christian life is a life of prayer/contemplation if our house was burning down I would grab these books only---

a Bible

"The Collected Works of St. John of the Cross"

"The Cloud of Unknowing" [The Classics Of Western Spirituality]

"Carthusian Spirituality: The Writings Of Hugh Of Balma And Guigo De Ponte" [The Classics Of Western Spirituality]

"The Spiritual Writings of Denis the Carthusian" Translated into English by Ide M. Ni Riain, RSCJ,
with an Introduction by Terence O'Reilly

I would not take with me any Reformed theology or 17th century English Puritan theology. I need to read my Bible and pray as I prepare for glory. A life of Christian service flows out of a life of unceasing prayer/contemplation. Having a head full of orthodox Reformed doctrine won't get me close to the heart of God.

So the day has gone by. I am tired, but what else is new. I showed Mat my LiveJournal blog "crookedfingers" while at the Christian bookstore.

I thought of once again listing the books that were mentioned as Matt and I talked this afternoon at a bookstore full of Reformed theology.

While we were talking a fellow came in the store looking for a used book by some woman on spiritual warfare. I told the fellow that the 17th cent. English Puritans wrote many good books on spiritual warfare. I showed him a book reprinted several times titled "Biblical Demonology, OR A Treatise Of Satan's Temptations" by Richard Gilpin (a 17th cent. English Puritan classic).

I also put in the fellows hands these two books by Joel Beeke---

"Overcoming The World: Grace To Win The Daily Battle"by Joel R. Beeke

"Striving Against Satan: Knowing The Enemy-His Weakness, His Strategy, His Defeat" by Joel Beeke

I failed to mention to this Christian seeking a used book on spiritual warfare a treatise by a great 17th cent. English Puritan named Thomas Brooks who wrote a wonderful work titled "Precious Remedies Against Satan's Devices" reprinted in "The Works of Thomas Brooks" six volumes 3,000 pages.

Many years ago one of the first books I read by a 17th century English Puritan was on spiritual warfare. The book was by William Gurnall (1616-1679) titled "The Christian in Complete Armour" a commentary on Ephesians 6:10-20.

I could mention other works by the 17th cent. English Puritans on spiritual warefare, but I won't.

I put the books in the fellow's hands and let Mat talk to him about Speaking in Tongues.

This afternoon this book was mentioned when talking about miracles and speaking in tongues---

"Counterfeit Miracles: The Cessation Of The Charismata, Patristic And Mediaeval Marvels, Roman Catholic Miracles, Irvingite Gifts, Faith Healing, & Mind Cure" by B. B. Warfield.

I read to Matt this afternoon Galatians 3:1-5.

"Systematic Theology: An Introduction to Biblical Doctrine" by Wayne Grudem [chapter 52 Gifts of the Holy Spirit (1): General Questions]

"The Gift of Prophecy in 1 Corinthians" by Wayne Grudem

This afternoon while talking about speaking in tongues I kept thinking of a book by Donald G. Bloesch titled "The Holy Spirit: Works & Gifts" [Christian Foundations] chapter 8 Pentecostalism.

I did not tell Matt I am a student of Pentecostalism.

I did tell Matt that some of the greatest books on God the Holy Spirit were written by 17th cent. English Puritans like John Owen, Thomas Goodwin and Stephen Charnock.

I collect books on the Holy Spirit (also books on the Trinity).

I mentioned to Matt this afternoon the 19th cent. Christian writer Octavius Winslow---read his book "The Work Of The Holy Spirit" published by The Banner of Truth Trust. Also check out Winslow's book "Personal Declension And Revival of Religion In The Soul" also published by the Banner Of Truth Trust.

It is 4:45 PM still down in the basement trying to remember what others books came up today as we had spiritual fellowship in a Calvinistic bookstore.

My mind is blank. Matt had never heard of the Beats Kerouac, Ginsberg or Burroughs.

Well I suppose I will close to take a hot shower. I am tired and soon the world will come to an end. I kept telling Matt that I am mainly concern with getting from one moment to the next and not abstract Reformed dogmatics. Now I still read Reformed theology, but I know in the end what is important is being in the cloud of unknowing. What is important is following and loving the Lord Jesus Christ. We must also never forsake the authority of Scripture! Well more could be written but some other time in the flow of existence. �Whoever has my commands and obeys them, he is the one who loves me. He who loves me will be loved by my Father, and I too will love him and show myself to him.�� John 14:21

5:05 p.m. - 2009-04-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts