glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the divorce of spirituality and theology

It is now in the flow of my existence [life] 1:43 PM. Carol has gone to bed for the day. I am down in our basement listening to do Dutch doom metal and looking at my books. It is a nice sunny day so I might go for another walk this afternoon out in the country. I might go by myself out to the Upper Macatawa Natural Area this afternoon to listen to Nature and the sounds of western civilization "culture of death".

Yesterday while Matt talked to me some books came to my mind that I won't write down for history.

Matt was sharing with me his intellectual struggles to understand the role of the Torah in the Christian life. As Matt talked to me about the Torah this book came to my mind---"Paul, Moses, And The History Of Israel: The Letter/Spirit Contrast and the Argument from Scripture in 2 Corinthians 3" by Scott J. Hafemann.

Also this little book came to my mind when Matt was talking about the Torah---"Torah In The Messianic Age And/Or The Age To Come" by W. D. Davies

I should tell Matt to read this book "Cruciformity: Paul's Narrative Spirituality of the Cross." A Christian is to pattern himself after Christ crucified not Moses Torah (Galatians 5:13-26 "You, my brothers, were called to be free")

I will list books that came to my mind yesterday while Matt was telling me what was on his Reformed theological mind---

"From Cloister to Classroom: Monastic and Scholastic Approaches to Truth" Edited by E. Rozanne Elder [The Spirituality of Western Christendom III]

"The Experience of God: Orthodox Dogmatic Theology" by Dumitru Staniloae [chapter 6 the Knowledge of God: Rational and Apophatic Knowledge of God]

"Orthodox Psychotherapy: The Science of the Fathers" by Metropolitan of Nafpaktos Hierotheos

"The Domestication of Transcendence: How Modern Thinking about God Went Wrong" by William C. Placher. Matt should read in this book Chapter 5 The Domestication of God pg. 71.

"Spirituality And Theology: Christian Living and the Doctrine of God" by Philip Sheldrak. I would urge Matt and all Reformed theological intellectuals to read Chapter 2 of Sheldrak's book titled "The Divorce of Spirituality and Theology".

"Spirituality & History: Questions of Interpretation and Method" by Philip Sheldrake SJ. Read in this book chapter 2 "What is Spirituality?".

"Mystical Theology" by Mark A. McIntosh-Matt should read chapter 2 "Mystery and Doctrine: The Historical Intergity of Spirituality and Theology."

"The Ways of Imperfection: An Exploration of Christian Spirituality" by Simon Tugwell O.P. I would urge Matt to read this book from cover to cover.

"The Spirituality of Western Christendom" Edited by E. Rozanne Elder-read the whole book.

"The Roots Of The Modern Christian Tradition: The Spirituality of Western Christendom, II" Edited by E. Rozanne Elder/Introduction by Jean Leclercq-would tell Matt to read the whole book.

It is now 2:27 PM I will close to put away my books. My problem is that I have read too much. I told Matt when I use to go to church I would take with me in the Sunday worship service all my books. I see and hear everything from what I have read over the last 39 years as a Bible believing Christian. When I use to go to church I could not leave my brain at home (or at the door of the church). I think too much. I am post-modern. I am doomed to wander the american evangelical wasteland. I do not fit anywhere in the american church world.

music: Gore "Hart Gore"

2:48 p.m. - 2009-04-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts