glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

beware of false prophets

I am to Labor Day 2006. Right now I can not remember why americans celebrate Labor Day? I notice some of my neighbors have their american flags out and there are a lot of war movies playing on TV. Is Labor Day a celebration of war? I do not know?

The computer tells me the time is now 7:13 AM. I am listening to the music of Beth Orton and drinking a coke. I am not a morning coffee drinker. I only drink mocha's. Well if we go out for breakfast I usually will have a cup of coffee with my meal. But I am not a big coffee drinker. I drink coke mainly. I am a sugar freak.

Last night I do not remember much about. Carol got up around 8 o'clock PM. I wandered the house yesterday miserable because I could not keep myself awake. I did mention finally to get some reading done. I read some of the book "The Spirit Poured Out on All Flesh: Pentecostalism and the Possibility of Global Theology" by Amos Yong.

Yesterday afternoon Carol was reading to me from the Covenant PCA church magazine the testimony of her new minister. It seems he was converted reading the sermons of Jonathan Edwards when a college student. (I am a student of the theology and life of Jonathan Edwards). I won't go into who Jonathan Edwards was except to say he wrote several treatises on the nature of true revival (he was a key figure in the Great Awakening here in america)

So as Carol and I were talking about Jonathan Edwards Beth comes home from Vineyard and tells us this morning a group of college kids were at her church. She said this group goes around seeking to bring a revival. I ask her innocently what kind of revival are these college kids seeking to bring? A revival like Jonathan Edwards writes about or a revival like one set forth in the writings of Charles Finney? There is a true revival and there is a false revival. Well to my surprise Beth starts crying. She never told me why she was crying. I can only assume she was upset at me for being so critical of those college kids at Vineyard seeking to bring about a man-made revival in the model of Charles Finney.

Pentecostalism is said to be a movement of God. I seriously doubt if Pentecostalism is a movement of God because it is so doctrinally rotten. I do not where one can find today "biblical Christianity"? Or a true revival or a movement of God? What I see in Pentecostalism is emotionalism and not the movement of God. Why would God the Holy Spirit bless Pentecostals with His power when their theology is so God dishonoring?

So much of what goes under the label of Christianity is pure fleshly religion and not Spirit wrought Christianity. I always tell people compare what we see in Christianity today from what we read in the New Testament. I tell people read the Pauline Epistles if you want to know what is true Christian spirituality.

I think Beth gets upset at me because I am so critical of modern aspects of american Christianity. I have studied Pentecostalism and the Charismatic movement for many years. The first years of my Christian life I was involved in the Charismatic movement. The Lord delivered me from the Charismatic movement so why should I encourage my children to get involved in something the Lord showed me to be unbiblical?

The other day in talking to Josiah on the phone he told me he had been attending a church that sounded Charismatic. All I said to him is for him to read his Bible and love the Lord Jesus. I have warned him not to get into "second blessing theology". There are so many pitfalls for those who seek to live biblical Christian lives. That is why we must read our Bibles and follow its teachings. It is sad to realize there are no true spiritual elders to guide baby Christians today in the american religious establishment. It is a divine miracle a Christian gets to heaven.

It does bother me that I have to be so negative about what is going on today in american christianity. I hate being a bummer all time. I am glad Beth and Josiah are seeking the Lord. I am thankful they are hungry for God and want to walk in His ways. I just feel it is my duty to warn them of the road turns in the spiritual path.

Well here I sit on Labor Day waking up to another day. I am off and I am not sure what I will do today to keep myself awake? I might drive over to GR to look around at stuff? I do not know what I will do today special?

I will close to eat something.

music: Beth Orton "Comfort of Strangers"

7:59 a.m. - 2006-09-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts