glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

work week number 658

It is 10:09 AM Sunday morning. Another cycle of seven begins today in my life. "The memory of the righteous is blessed, but the name of the wicked will rot" Proverbs 10:7.

I have been up since 7:44 AM. Carol and Beth were already up when I got up to face the light of the sun. Josiah never came home last night. He must have stayed in GR last night at his friend's house.

When I got up I checked the computer for e-mail and read online journals. Yesterday 47 people checked out my Journalspace diary. That is the average congregation of a conservative Reformed church. If I am read daily by a 100 people I am happy, because that is a big group of church members. I see myself as a teaching elder. "My brethren, let not many of you become teachers, knowing that we shall receive a stricter judgment" James 3:1. I never forced myself into the office of teaching elder. I am at peace growing old and waiting for my final reward. "Beloved, now we are children of God; and it has not yet been revealed what we shall be, but we know that when He is revealed, we shall be like Him, for we shall see Him as He is.

And everyone who has this hope in Him purifies himself, just as He is pure" First John 3:2,3.

Carol and I took Rudy for a walk downtown Holland this morning. A pretty cool sunny morning. I got myself a super strong mocha this morning while Carol walked the dog. I sat in the sunshine as Carol walked Rudy. I am tired and do not look forward to another week of hard physical labor. My job does not take brains just brawn. I am a old ox hauling egg steel carts for money. I got help bring money into the household. "For you yourselves know how you ought to follow us, for we were not disorderly among you; nor did we eat anyone's bread free of charge, but worked with labor and toil night and day, that we might not be a burden to any of you. . . Now those who are such we command and exhort through our Lord Jesus Christ that they work in quietness and eat their own bread" 2 Thess. 3:7,8,12.

When Carol and I got home from walking the dog I ate breakfast and came to the computer to write. Carol and Beth have gone to church. Beth goes to a church down the block Vineyard Fellowship and Carol goes to Covenant PCA. Josiah goes to Messiah I.R.C.. I am looking for the Church. I do not know what Caleb Jon does on the first day of the week?

I went down earlier to find a CD owned by Josiah, which was Neil Young's CD "Prairie Wind". Josiah has these books on his desk---

"Elementary Logic" Revised Edition by Willard VanOrman Quine

"Breath Marks" haiku to read in the dark by Gary Notham

"Repairing The Ruins: The Classical and Christian Challenge to Modern Education" Douglas Wilson, editor

"The Paideia Of God And Other Essays On Education" by Douglas Wilson

"On Education" by Immanuel Kant with an introduction by Sarah Cunningham

Josiah bought the other night at Barnes & Nobles "Foundations Of Western Thought: Hebrews, Greeks, and Romans" A University-Level Course Taught by Timothy B. Shutt (Barnes & Noble Audio).

Well I will close to rest.

music: Bob Dylan "Live 1964"

11:00 a.m. - 2006-06-11

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts