glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

this life is a road to our own country

this life is a road to our own country

It is 8:46 AM Saturday morning-it is my OFF day-I have been up since 7 o'clock AM-I got up and fixed myself a cup of tea and read livejournals-I next wrote e-mails to friends-Bethany got up-she left this morning for her Springbreak get away to Los Angeles Calif. my little girl is gone-my kids are leaving the home nest-it is just Carol and I here now-such is life. Carol got home around 8:25 AM as I was cooking breakfast-we saw Beth off and Carol went to bed-now here I sit drinking a coke listening to Giant Sand-I got out my Kerouac book collection to write down HERE-I love book lists!

Here is the list of books I have by Kerouac or on Kerouac

1. Orpheus Emerged by Jack Kerouac (a new book that just came out) Introduction by Robert Creeley

2. The Town And The City by Jack Kerouac (his first novel)

3. The Spontaneous Poetics of Jack Kerouac: A Study Of The Fiction by Regina Weinreich

4. Jack Kerouac Angelheaded Hipster by Steve Turner

5. Mexico City Blues (242 Choruses) by Jack Kerouac

6. Jack Kerouac A Biography by Tom Clark

7. Memory Babe A Critical Biography Of Jack Kerouac by Gerald Nicosia

8. Jack's Book An Oral Biography Of Jack Kerouac by Barry Gifford & Lawrence Lee

9. Visions of Cody by Jack Kerouac Introduction by Allen Ginsberg

10. The Dharma Bums by Jack Kerouac

11. On The Road by Jack Kerouac

12. Desolation Angels by Jack Kerouac

13. Atop an Underwood-Early Stories and Other Writings by Jack Kerouac Edited by Paul Marien

14. Book Of Dreams by Jack Kerouac Introduction by Robert Creeley

15. Good Blonde & Others uncollected writings of Jack Kerouac (one of my favorite Kerouac books)

16. Jack Kerouac King of the Beats a biography by Barry Miles

17. Kerouac A Biography by Ann Charters

18. Lonesome Traveler A Novel by Jack Kerouac

19. Off the Road My Years With Cassady, Kerouac And Ginsberg by Carolyn Cassady (a fine introduction to the lives of Kerouac, Cassady and Ginsberg)

20. Naked Angels The Lives and Literature of the Beat Generation by John Tytell

21. Desolation Angel A Biography Jack Kerouac, The Beat Generation, And America by Dennis McNally

22. Kerouac And The Beats: A Primary Sourcebook Edited By Arthur and Kit Knight

23. The Beat Vision: A Primary Sourcebook Edited by Arthur and Kit Knight

24. Subterranean Kerouac: The Hidden Life of Jack Kerouac by Ellis Amburn (interesting book on the life of Kerouac)

25. Jack Kerouac-Selected Letters 1940-1956 Edited by Ann Charters (I dig the letters of Kerouac!)

26. Jack Kerouac-Selected Letters 1957-1969 Edited by Ann Charters (I love the letters of Kerouac!)

27. Some of the Dharma by Jack Kerouac (a must read for those into the spirituality of Kerouac)

28. The Jack Kerouac Collection-Box Set of his recordings-wonderful-I enjoy hearing Kerouac's voice

29. A Jack Kerouac ROMnibus-The ultimate multimedia exploration of the Beat Generation-Penguin Electronic-a must for all Kerouac scholars

30. Mexico City Blues (242 Choruses) by Jack Kerouac Read by Allen Ginsberg

31. Visions of Cody by Jack Kerouac-Selections From The Novel Read By Graham Parker

32. Jack Kerouac reads On The Road a CD

33. Kerouac-kicks joy darkness a CD

34. Kerouac's Crooked Road: The Development of a Fiction by Tim Hunt Foreword by Ann Charters

I have many more books devoted to the Beats but the above is mainly the stuff on Kerouac-more is coming out all the time-some of it is trash meaning it is put out to make money-I recently have read these books on the Beats "This Is The Beat Generation New York San Francisco Paris" by James Campbell-"Recollections of My Life as a Woman-The New York Years" a memoir by Diane di Prima.

For a good start on learning about the Beats I recommend these two books "Beat Down To Your Soul: What Was The Beat Generation? Poems, Essays, Memoirs, Notes, Protests, Attacks, and Apologies-from the Beat Exposion That Rocked The World" Edited with an Introduction by Ann Charters-a great book! and "The Rolling Stone Book Of The Beats: The Beat Generation and American Culture" edited by Holly George-Warren

This week in my livejournal I have mentioned seeing a mental health worker last Monday-I mentioned that I told this mental health worker that the two major influences in my existence have been the Son of God the Lord Jesus Christ and Jack Kerouac-I mentioned Kerouac in seeking to explain to this individual why I am always writing down my existence in God in my livejournal-I told her that Kerouac was always writing-I wish I had had with me that afternoon a piece written by Kerouac titled "Belief & Technique for Modern Prose"-

BELIEF & TECHNIQUE FOR MODERN PROSE

Jack Kerouac

1. Scribbled secret notebooks, and wild typewritten pages, for yr own joy

2. Submissive to everything, open, listening

3. Try never get drunk outside yr own house

4. Be in love with yr life

5. Something that you feel will find its own form

6. Be crazy dumbsaint of the mind

7. Blow as deep as you want to blow

8. Write what you want bottomless from bottom of the mind

9. The unspeakable visions of the individual

10. No time for poetry but exactly what is

11. Visionary tics shivering in the chest

12. In tranced fixation dreaming upon object before you

13. Remove literary, grammatical and syntactical inhibition

14. Like Proust be an old teahead of time

15. Telling the true story of the world in interior monolog

16. The jewel center of interest is the eye within the eye

17. Write in recollection and amazement for yourself

18. Work from pithy middle eye out, swimming in language sea

19. Accept loss forever

20. Believe in the holy contour of life

21. Struggle to sketch the flow that already exists intact in mind

22. Dont think of words when you stop but to see picture better

23. Keep track of every day the date emblazoned in yr morning

24. No fear or shame in the dignity of yr experience, language & knowledge

25. Write for the world to read and see yr exact pictures of it

26. Bookmovie is the movie in words, the visual American form

27. In praise of Character in the Bleak inhuman Loneliness

28. Composing wild, undisciplined, pure, coming in from under, crazier the better

29. You're a Genius all the time

30. Writer-Director of Earthly movies Sponsored & Angeled in Heaven

I might bring to this woman next week this piece written by Kerouac for her to read and ponder-I have even been thinking of copying off everything I have written since I met with this mental health worker and giving it to her to read-but she might not read it with the love of God burning in the middle of her mental health being?

So here I sit on my day Off now listening to the CD Jack Kerouac reads On The Road-I need to take a break-look at the book "In Dominico Eloquio-In Lordly Eloquence: Essays on Patristic Exegesis in Honor of Robert Louis Wilken"-the sun is shining outside and I hear the birds singing-Spring is in the air finally. Yesterday at work I saw a huge woodchuck running across an open field-animals are coming out of hibernation.

10:08 a.m. - 2002-03-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts