glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the process of dehumanization was most acute

It is 2:02 PM Monday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is a cold cloudy day. It is not snowing presently, but bitter cold.

I am as usual tired. I got up this morning around 7:45 AM. Carol was already up and getting ready for the day. She wanted to be at her church at 8:30 AM to help wrap Christmas gifts to take a Woman's Homeless Shelter. Caleb dropped off Josie this morning so she could go with Carol to help wrap gifts for homeless women and children. Carol seeks to teach Josie the gift of giving to others. We are not to love just ourselves, but to "give our time, our treasure, and our talents to others" is Carol's motto.

I left to volunteer at our local library used bookstore The Book Nook at 9:40 AM. The store was not busy so I read from a book titled, 'Magnificent Rebels-The First Romantics and the Invention of The Self' biography by Andrea Wulf. I should mention early this morning UPS delivered to our front porch a book I had ordered titled, 'Everybody Thought We Were Crazy-Dennis Hopper, Brooke Hayward, and 1960's Los Angeles' biography by Mark Rozzo.

I did buy one massive book at the Book Nook today titled, 'Century: A Visual History of the Century with 1000 Photos'.

Last night Carol and I watched Professional Football. Carol went to bed early and I went down into the lower level and read late into the night from a book titled, 'Dwight Macdonald and the politics Circle' biography by Gregory D. Sumner.

I suppose I will close to feel drained. Carol won't be home till late.

Yesterday when Carol got from church around 2:35 PM we went down the street to open Christmas gifts with Caleb, Emily, Josie, Cora and their little dog Ollie. We were home from having Christmas around 4:35 PM. Caleb and Emily bought us for Christmas a new coffee maker.

Well I need to close to sit and recover.

2:22 p.m. - 2022-12-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act