glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

we value nothing in the world above our communion with God in Christ

It is in the flow of my tiny little life Monday morning 7:23 AM. I got up around 6:20 AM this morning. When I got up I found my wife sleeping in the living room in the recliner chair. Carol has a cold and does not feel chipper. She had already had breakfast (she had gotten up around 4 o'clock AM). So I made a pot of mush for myself. I ate my oatmeal after messing with our main computer. I next wrote in my paper diary and started reading from a book titled, 'The Spiritual Life' on Self-Denial. I found this convicting this morning in the book on THE SPIRITUAL LIFE-

"But there is a third and final aspect of self-denial relevant to us all Self-denial is a virtue that implies the following: We must manifest in all the business of our life that we value nothing in the world above our communion with God in Christ. We must love nothing among all the things of this world (food, drink, proper pleasures) so vehemently that, if necessary, we could not separate ourselves from it except with great bitterness of spirit. And we must use all things temperately and under the government of sanctified reason so that it is obvious that we have been freed from slavery to corruption and transported into the state of the liberty of the sons of God (John 8:36; Rom. 8:21-22). The doctrine of the apostle is "that both they that have wives be as though they had none. . . and they that buy, as though they possessed not; and they that use this world, as not abusing it" (1 Cor. 7:29-31). This is a mark of the perfection of a Christian: to use moderately the good things of this world that have been provided by divine providence-not indulging the flesh in any way but sharing liberally from our goods with others. Additionally, if a believer feels in himself a greater longing and propensity of soul toward this or that permissible good thing than sanctified reason judges to be balanced, then he will abstain from it voluntarily until the vice of lust is conquered and the use of that good thing can be restricted within proper bounds. This, too, means denying oneself since it involves things that we naturally desire and that are considered to be rightfully ours." pg.52,53 Campegius Vitringa

I found the above quote searching. So here I sit waking up to another day and a new week. There is no Book Nook this morning because the library is closed. Carol mentioned that Caleb might bring the girls over today since Emily is working and the Day Care is closed. Carol is sick with a cold so I think it would be better for her to stay in bed and get over her illness instead of babysitting Josie and Cora all day.

I plan to drift through this day. Seek the Lord while He may be found. One day the Day of Grace will end and then there will be time no more to repent and believe the Gospel of God. The final verdict will be sealed forever.

Yesterday was a quiet day. Carol slept most of the day. I read my books and watched the birds from our kitchen window. I read from these books yesterday-

'Fin De Siecle: Art And Society In An Age Of Uncertainty' by Shearer West

'Ninth Street Women Lee Krasner, Elaine de Kooning, Grace Hartigan, Joan Mitchell, and Helen Frankenthaler: Five Painters and the Movement That Changed Modern Art' by Mary Gabriel

'Scratches The Rules Of The Game Volume 1' by Michel Leiris Translated from the French by Lydia Davis

'Fire Within St Teresa Of Avila, St. John Of The Cross, And The Gospel ON PRAYER' by John Dubay, S.M.

Well I will close to go shovel some snow off the walkway leading to our front door and fed our birds.

7:52 a.m. - 2019-02-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act