glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"How shall I give thee up, Ephraim?" Hosea 11:8

  1032     S.M.    Henry Fowler
    “How shall I give thee up, Ephraim?” Hosea 11. 8
    1        “How shall I give thee up?”
            (’Tis Jesus speaks the word)
        “I am the sinner’s only hope;
            I am thy gracious Lord.

    2        “Rebellious thou hast been,
            And art rebellious still;
        But since in love I took thee in,
            My promise I’ll fulfil.

    3        “I’ve bound thee up secure,
            ’Midst all the rage of hell;
        The curse thou never shalt endure,
            For I’m unchangeable.

    4        “My son, give me thy heart;
            Let me thy sorrows bear;
        ’Tis not thy caution, power, or art,
            Can save thee from despair.”

    5        Lord, captivate my soul;
            Subdue the power of sin;
        My vile corruptions, O control;
            Let faith the battle win.

    1033     11s    Henry Fowler
    “Whither the forerunner is for us entered.” Heb. 6. 20
In Jesus combine all the riches of grace,
What glory and grandeur I see in his face;
Jehovah’s eternal and co-equal Son,
Took all our transgressions and made them his own.
    2
Ye children of Zion, now dry up your tears;
For you the Redeemer in glory appears;
Now he lives, now he reigns, now he dwells in the sky,
To answer the needy whenever they cry.
    3
Afflicted believer, thy cause he’ll maintain;
Though rough be thy way, he’ll revive thee again;
In dark dispensations his kindness he’ll prove,
And teach thee to prize his immutable love.
    4
What though thy corruptions are many and strong,
Thy gracious Redeemer will help thee along;
His promise assures thee, when troubles assail,
Though hell should oppose thee, thy faith cannot fail.

10:13 a.m. - 2018-12-05

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
oct0ber
whystinger
browndamask
mal-adjusted
koorikaze
lobo21
weatethesea
tobehis
raven72d
jondavid2010
journey2one
newschick
freakyouout
realthoughts
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act