glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

afraid of the dark

It is 3:30 PM Monday afternoon. It is a warm sunny day here in West Michigan today. It actually feels like Spring today instead of Autumn.

I got up this morning around 6:30 AM. I got up made a pot of coffee and got oatmeal ready to make when Carol would get up to face another day in the world. After I made coffee I messed with our main computer and then wrote in my paper diary. After I wrote in my paper diary I read from a book titled, "Reading The Bible Supernaturally" by John Piper. When Carol got up I made us oatmeal for breakfast. After breakfast I read and wrote in my paper diary till 10 o'clock AM. I then left to visit thrift stores north of town. I found these used books today to add to our library-

"Justice" short stories by Larry Watson

"Faster: The Acceleration of Just About Everything" by James Gleick

"Sons of Providence: The Brown Brothers, The Slave Trade, And The American Revolution" by Charles Rappleye

"The Big Sky" a novel by A. B. Guthrie, Jr.

"Judgment Day: Lyndon Baines Johnson, Martin Luther King Jr. And The Laws That Changed America" by Nick Kotz

"Night: Night Life, Night Language, Sleep and Dreams" essays by A. Alvarez

"James Madison" biography by Richard Brookhiser

"Ending" a novel by Hilma Wolitzer

I got home from my wanderings around 11:35 AM. Carol was making cookies when I got home. I ate lunch and then cataloged the used books I bought this morning into my LibraryThing site.

Carol went to bed around 1:30 PM and I decided to read "Night: Night Life, Night Language, Sleep and Dreams" essays by A. Alvarez for awhile. While I was reading my friend Tim called and asked if it was alright to stop by. I said sure! I am not doing anything super important. When Tim arrived he asked if I could drive him to a local grocery store. I said sure on the way I can stop at Goodwill I see if there is any used books to buy. So Tim and I did that this afternoon. We went to Goodwill and I found one used book titled, "The Death Of Bunny Munro" a novel by Nick Cave. After Goodwill we went grocery shopping.

So it has been a busy day for this old man. I am pretty blown out this afternoon.

In the mail this afternoon I received a radio I had ordered from Amazon, a new book and a CD. I also got in the mail two other CD's. Consumer goods have been flowing into this house today nonstop! The book I got in the mail today is titled, "Blood, Bone, And Marrow: A Biography Of Harry Crews" by Ted Geltner With A Foreword By Michael Connelly.

Last night I watched a little TV with my wife and read late into the night from a novel titled, "The Dream Maker" by Jean-Christophe Rufin.

Well I am wasted so I will close to wait for darkness to fall.

3:52 p.m. - 2017-05-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
patheticness
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
fan4
msjessica
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8