glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

a lonely road

It is in the flow of existence 1:04 PM Tuesday afternoon. This morning I watched a video of someone I met online many years ago in a blog site called Journalspace, which no longer exist. We still stay in contact through Facebook. This Facebook friend is a Christian and has recently started a YouTube channel where he shares his Christian faith. This morning my friend posted a video where he talks about the Christian people who helped him or influenced him in becoming a Christian.

This video caused me to ask myself what people in my past as a Christian influenced me or helped me in my spiritual life. I could not come up with anyone. If anything it has been professing Christian or churches that have inflicted upon me pain or hindered my spiritual progress/Christian growth. The only reason I continue to seek to live the Christian life is because the Lord by His Holy Spirit keeps me seeking Him in spite of all the discouragements/rejection/pain inflicted on me by churches and other Christians. I refuse to focus on churches or Christians and seek to keep my eyes on the Lord Jesus. I am not saying I have not been let down by the Lord, but I know deep down the Lord is good and has always sought my spiritual good.

It does bother me that when I look over the 45 years I have been a Christian I can find no one who has sought my spiritual good or sought to help me (pastoral care) when the Christian road was rough. I am thankful for my Christian wife and her love through all the many years we have been together. But my wife and I have different Christian lives/we see the spiritual life differently. But due to our love for one another we support each other in our Christian walk. In the end we are both seeking to love and serve the Lord Jesus.

I thought I would post these thoughts this afternoon. The Lord is faithful.

(I want to mention that there has been one Christian who has blessed me throughout my Christian life and that is St. John of the Cross especially his treatise, "The Dark Night".)

"[1] Wherefore seeing we also are compassed about with so great a cloud of witnesses, let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which doth so easily beset us, and let us run with patience the race that is set before us,
[2] Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith; who for the joy that was set before him endured the cross, despising the shame, and is set down at the right hand of the throne of God.
[3] For consider him that endured such contradiction of sinners against himself, lest ye be wearied and faint in your minds.
[4] Ye have not yet resisted unto blood, striving against sin.
[5] And ye have forgotten the exhortation which speaketh unto you as unto children, My son, despise not thou the chastening of the Lord, nor faint when thou art rebuked of him:
[6] For whom the Lord loveth he chasteneth, and scourgeth every son whom he receiveth.
[7] If ye endure chastening, God dealeth with you as with sons; for what son is he whom the father chasteneth not?
[8] But if ye be without chastisement, whereof all are partakers, then are ye bastards, and not sons." Hebrews 12:1-8

1:39 p.m. - 2015-11-03

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
journey2one
realthoughts
freakyouout
trapeze-act
msjessica
fragilegirl8
fan4