glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the healing of the nous

It is 10:44 AM Monday morning in the flow of existence. Outside it is 27 degrees and gray. Today we are suppose to get a mix of snow and rain. We are coming to the end of the first month of 2012. Life is speeding by!

I got up this morning around 6:30 AM. We went grocery shopping this morning. Carol left this morning to do errands. I have been wandering the house and listening to music since getting back from grocery shopping.

I was going to write about contemplative prayer but now I feel flat. I am tired. I did not sleep well last night.

Last night I read my books and watched television with my wife. Our son Josiah and his wife Hannah skyped us last night. They wished Carol a Happy Birthday. We skyped for about 48 minutes.

I read last night from these books.

"Carthusian Spirituality The Writings Of Hugh Of Balma And Guigo De Ponte" [The Classics Of Western Spirituality]

"Prayer: The Spirituality of the Christian East" Volume 2 by Tomas Spidlik

"Orthodox Psychotherapy: The Science of the Fathers" by Metropolitan of Nafpaktos Hierotheos translated by Esther Williams

"Into The Silent Land: A Guide to the Christian Practice of Contemplation" by Martin Laird

I would recommend before reading Laird's books to read the above books on prayer and contemplation. I would not recommend reading Martin Laird's books till one has read a lot of books on Christian contemplation. I strongly recommend the book "Carthusian Spirituality The Writings of Hugh Of Balam And Guigo De Ponte" [The Classics of Western Spirituality]. Read this book and then read Martin Laird's books.

Also read "Orthodox Psychotherapy: The Science of the Fathers" by Metropolitan of Nafpaktos Hierotheos translated by Esther Williams. This is a wonderful book, full of spiritual wisdom.

So the morning goes by. I will close to drift. I need to take a nap this afternoon. There is no way of escape.

"For you died, and your life is hidden with Christ in God." Colossians 3:3

music: Wolves In The Throne Room "Celestial Lineage"

11:05 a.m. - 2012-01-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

tobehis
raven72d
gr8legs
gonzoprophet
newschick
kabukicharms
x--8letters
jondavid2010
realthoughts
msboston
exegetical
journey2one
koorikaze
coldwars
freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
joy-in-god
fan4
talktogod
jedidiah77
oldjake
trapeze-act