glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the Kingdom of God has come

How To Disappear Completely

I am tired from another day down at the bottom of the Egg Pit-I am very thankful it is the end of another work week-I need the weekend to recover from work-nothing came in the mail for me today no books no money no CD's-no one is home right now but Joe and I-Carol went to a wedding-Beth went out with her girlfriends-Caleb Jon went over to a friend's apartment-I have to go pick up take out Chinese food soon-I will eat and chill out-sit in the dining room and drift-I am too tired to read my books or do anything-my head hurts-my whole being hurts-well enough moaning-I will go get my food.

the Kingdom of God has come

It is 9:45 p.m. I am up from sleeping and reading some of the book "The Royal Family" by William T. Vollmann-no one has come home-the house was dark when I came out of the bedroom-Joe is down in the basement playing on his computer-so Friday evening goes by-nothing really on my mind these days-I am wasted from work-wish there was more to write-at work I do not remember where my mind was at? At lunch time I ate food and wrote in my diary-the book I have been carrying around with me this week is titled "Jesus, Justice, And The Reign of God: A Ministry of Liberation" by William R. Herzog II-when my friend Pat was here I mentioned this book to him-he told me he had for sale cheap Herzog's other book "Parables as Subversive Speech:Jesus as Pedagogue of the Oppressed" I told Pat to send it to me when he gets home back to his bookstore.

I think I can not read this week heavy stuff due to the boys going off to college-the household is in a unsettled state-too much going on-plus work has been especially hard on me this week.

As I slept this evening I listened to the CD "the moon is down" by Further Seems Forever-now I am listening to Bardo Pond on my portable CD player-we have the ac on so the house is cold. Existence is going by-today I had this stuff on my mind from the book "Introducing The New Testament-Its Literature and Theology" ". . . Jesus spoke of the presence of God's dominion, while at the same time assuming its future manifestation in a reign of rightousness, with the vindication of the righteous, because his vision of the kingdom reflects that story implicit in the OT and Jewish literature. And while that story assumed that God rules in the present, it also pressed towards the climactic and the tension inherent in it, but he made one substantial and significant change, which altered the entire schema: he saw the present not as moving inevitably towards a promised goal, but rather spoke of that future climax moving backward toward the present. In a word, his vision of the kingdom was thoroughly eschatological, anticipating a decisive and climactic manifestation of God's sovereignty. Precisely because of his anticipation of that decisive climax of God's rule, he saw the future shape of the kingdom as determinative for the way in which he carried out his ministry and the life to which he summoned his disciples and others" pg.218

Well I will close to get a coke and wait for my wife to come home from the wedding.

"And the world is passing away, and the lust of it; but he who does the will of God abides forever" 1 John 2:17

10:27 p.m. - 2001-08-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts