glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Days of Lamech

time to face another work week in the dead zone

It is a cold dark Sunday morning-waking up to a new work week-my body is stiff and sore-the evidence of old age is a body that hurts when you are getting out of bed to face another day in the evil world system-"We know that we are of God, and the whole world lies under the sway of the wicked one" First John 5:19

Soon it will be time to wake up my offspring and tell them it is to get ready to go to church-church starts at 9:30 a.m. I personally think church should start at 11 o'clock late morning instead of so early in the morning-I do not wake up till late morning usually-when we lived in Mississippi and Texas church always started around 11 o'clock-the Dutch Reformed have church early in the morning-do not know why? Some of the guys in our church are hog and dairy farmers and have been up for hours before coming to church-the dairy farmers have to milk their cows around three o'clock in the morning-I would not want to be a farmer-the only benefit in being a farmer is that you are your own boss-plus you are always home with your family.

So we go to MIRC this morning-our pastor preaches in the morning from the Heidelberg Catechism I think we are on Lord's Day 15 Question 37:What dost thou understand by the words, "He suffered"? Answer: That He, all the time that He lived on earth, but especially at the end of His life sustained in body and soul the wrath of God against the sins of all mankind; that so by His passion, as the only propitiatory sacrifice, He might redeem our body and soul from everlasting damnation, and obtain for us the favor of God, righteousness and eternal life.

Question 38: Why did He suffer under Pontius Pilate as judge?

Answer: That He, being innocent, and yet condemned by a temporal judge, might thereby free us from the severe judgment of God to which we were exposed.

Question 39: Is there anything more in his being crucified that if He had died some other death?

Answer: Yes, there is; for thereby I am assured, that He took on Him the curse which lay upon me; for the death of the cross was accursed of God"

So the morning goes by-it is time to get the Sunday paper off the porch-greet my wife-eat something-go off to the house of the Lord.

the fruit of my body for the sin of my soul?

We are home from Messiah Independent Reformed Church-we got home around 11:15 a.m. ate food and watched a tv show Great Vacation Homes-then I cleaned the kitchen and now I am sitting before the computer talking to myself-time is 12:23 p.m.-I think my favorite Starflyer 59 is "the fashion focus" I like the sound of the whole record-so we went to church-I did not fall asleep during the sermon which is a miracle-it was a good sermon on Lord's Day 15-this evening my minister friend preaches from the Prophecy of Micah chapter 6-"With what shall I come before the LORD, And bow myself before the High God? Shall I come before Him with burnt offerings, With calves a year old? Will the LORD be pleased with thousands of rams, Ten thousands of rams, Ten thousand rivers of oil? Shall I give my firstborn for my transgression, The fruit of my body for the sin of my soul?

He has shown you, O man, what is good, And what does the LORD require of you But to do justly, To love mercy, And to walk humbly with your God" Micah 6:6-8

I am tired but do not feel like going to bed-I like to read the books I bought recently-but I am blown intellectually! a ton of crap on my mind these days.

Do not remember last night so I will not comment of it.

It is a new work week-there is no escape from work-I must humble myself and suffer looking to the eternal crown of life waiting for me after I drop dead from exhaustion. Carol off tomorrow night-she has towards the end of the month a seven day off vacation-on the 29th of this month Joe moves to Calvin College-I will take the day off to help him move into his college dorm-Caleb moves into his dorm I think the 24th of this month? Beth starts 11th grade the end of the month-busy time around the Keen household-next month it will be quiet around the house-the boys will be away at school-Beth will be busy with school, work and her busy social life. Carol and I will be basically working and recovering from work-there is nothing else for me.

I will close to drift to the music of Starflyer 59-try to not flip out into the void.

12:56 p.m. - 2001-08-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts