glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the crisis of Modernism

It is 2:24 PM Friday afternoon and it is raining and 45 degrees. Maybe we will see sunshine before the Second Coming of Christ.

I got up this morning around 6:45 AM. When I came upstairs I found life the same as it was yesterday morning. All my days are repeats, which is a blessing. I am thankful for a warm house and a full stomach. As long as we pay our taxes we won't be on the streets. One could die of starvation and yet still have a roof over their heads if they paid their bills.

I spent the morning writing in my paper diary and reading Mystical Theology/'On Contemplation' by Guigo De Ponte. Carol left this morning to do errands and got home around Noon. Next Friday Carol won't be here, but out West. I will be here alone with shadows and spider's.

This afternoon I have been writing in my paper diary and reading from a book titled, 'The Freaks Came Out To Write-The Definitive History of The Village Voice the Radical Paper That Changed American Culture' by Tricia Romano. I got out of the Lower Level this afternoon these two books to look at while the winds howl across The Wasteland-'Beat Generation-Glory Days in Greenwich Village' by Fred W. McDarrah & Gloria S. McDarrah and 'Kerouac and Friends-A Beat Generation Album' by Fred W. McDarrah & Gloria S. McDarrah.

Last night before going to bed I read from these books-'Lies And Sorcery' A Novel by Elsa Morante Translated By Jenny McPhee and 'Life on the Streets of Nineteenth-Century London' by Oskar Jensen.

I will close to wait it out. Next Friday I will be alone.

The mail man just came, I received in the mail a used book I had ordered titled, 'Franz Kafka: Representative Man (Prague, Germans, Jews and the Crisis Of Modernism) biography by Frederick Karl. I have been reading lately from Karl's other book, 'American Fictions 1940-1980: A Comprehensive History and Critical Evaluation'. Reading this book 'American Fictions 1940-1980' has bee a rich intellectual treat!

2:48 p.m. - 2024-03-08

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act