glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

where your treasure is, there will be your heart also

It is 2:04 PM Monday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is 39 degrees and cloudy. The sky is icy gray this afternoon. I am glad though it is not snowing or raining. I do not know when we will have our first real snow storm. They have predicted a light Winter this year.

I got up this morning around 7 o'clock AM. I had been awake since 3:45 AM, but finally made a decision to get up around 7 o'clock AM. Carol told me she had gotten up at 4:15 AM this morning. It is hard to sleep when you are old. I do not believe in the doctrine of soul sleep by the way. Once we are dead we either go to Heaven or Hell.

I spent the morning doing the usual, writing in my paper diary and reading. Carol and I did have devotions this morning. I spent the morning up to Noontime reading from a book titled, 'New Testament Theology' by Eckhard J. Schnabel. This afternoon I have been once again reading what I was reading before I went to bed last night, 'Hollywood: A Third Memoir' by Larry McMurtry. These days I have found it hard to get back into what I was reading last month. I am a mood reader and I have not been in the mood to read these books lately-'Lies And Sorcery' A Novel by Elsa Morante Translated By Jenny McPhee and 'The Paper: The Life and Death of the New York Herald Tribune' by Richard Kluger. I am almost finished reading from these two books-'Sonic Life: A Memoir' by Thurston Moore and 'The Letters Of Gustave Flaubert' Edited And Translated By Francis Steegmuller. I have not started reading a novel I bought last month from Amazon titled, 'The House On Via Gemito' a novel by Domenico Starnone Translated by Oonagh Stransky. I have coming tomorrow from Amazon a novel I pre-ordered last year.

So this day goes by normal, which is a blessing. I am thankful for our normal life.

I will close to drift. I will soon be over.

"[9] After this manner therefore pray ye: Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name.
[10] Thy kingdom come. Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven.
[11] Give us this day our daily bread.
[12] And forgive us our debts, as we forgive our debtors.
[13] And lead us not into temptation, but deliver us from evil: For thine is the kingdom, and the power, and the glory, for ever. Amen.
[14] For if ye forgive men their trespasses, your heavenly Father will also forgive you:
[15] But if ye forgive not men their trespasses, neither will your Father forgive your trespasses.
[16] Moreover when ye fast, be not, as the hypocrites, of a sad countenance: for they disfigure their faces, that they may appear unto men to fast. Verily I say unto you, They have their reward.
[17] But thou, when thou fastest, anoint thine head, and wash thy face;
[18] That thou appear not unto men to fast, but unto thy Father which is in secret: and thy Father, which seeth in secret, shall reward thee openly.
[19] Lay not up for yourselves treasures upon earth, where moth and rust doth corrupt, and where thieves break through and steal:
[20] But lay up for yourselves treasures in heaven, where neither moth nor rust doth corrupt, and where thieves do not break through nor steal:
[21] For where your treasure is, there will your heart be also.
[22] The light of the body is the eye: if therefore thine eye be single, thy whole body shall be full of light.
[23] But if thine eye be evil, thy whole body shall be full of darkness. If therefore the light that is in thee be darkness, how great is that darkness!" Matthew 6:9-23

2:23 p.m. - 2023-12-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act