glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

what is your only comfort in life and death?

It is 2:54 PM Monday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is 40 degrees and partly sunny. It snowed this morning for a brief spell of time. It is predicted to snow with a mixture of rain tomorrow. It snowed out in Denver CO yesterday, our daughter Beth sent us a photo of snow in their back yard.

I got up this morning around 7:30 AM. When I came upstairs Carol had just left to go grocery shopping. I spent the morning writing in my paper diary and reading from a book titled, 'The Reformation as Renewal: Retrieving The One, Holy, Catholic, And Apostolic Church' by Matthew Barrett.

Carol got home from grocery shopping around 9:30 AM. I spent the morning and the afternoon writing in my paper diary and reading my books. This afternoon I have been reading a novel I had been reading awhile back titled, 'Doxology' A Novel by Neil Zink. I recently ordered from Amazon Zink's latest novel, 'Avalon'.

Last night I mainly read before going to bed, 'The Philokalia Of The Holy Neptic Fathers' Full Text Volume Five. Carol and I watched last night Sunday Night Football. We went to bed around 10:25 PM. Now it is another day and it will soon be over. Tomorrow will be the last day of October 2023. I see my therapist tomorrow at 1 o'clock PM.

I suppose I will close since there is nothing more to record.

"1. Q. What is your only comfort in life and death?

A. That I am not my own,[1] but belong with body and soul, both in life and in death,[2] to my faithful Saviour Jesus Christ.[3] He has fully paid for all my sins with His precious blood, and has set me free from all the power of the devil.[5] He also preserves me in such a way[6] that without the will of my heavenly Father not a hair can fall from my head;[7] indeed, all things must work together for my salvation.[8] Therefore, by His Holy Spirit He also assures me of eternal life[9] and makes me heartily willing and ready from now on to live for Him.[10]

[1] I Cor. 6:19, 20 [2] Rom. 14:7-9. [3] I Cor. 3:23; Tit. 2:14. [4] I Pet. 1:18, 19; I John 1:7; 2:2. [5] John 8:34-36; Heb. 2:14, 15; I John 3:8. [6] John 6:39, 40; 10:27-30; II Thess. 3:3; I Pet. 1:5. [7] Matt. 10:29-31; Luke 21:16-18. [8] Rom. 8:28. [9] Rom. 8:15, 16; II Cor. 1:21, 22; 5:5; Eph. 1:13, 14. [10] Rom. 8:14." Question One of the Heidelberg Catechism

3:13 p.m. - 2023-10-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act