glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

has given me spiritual perception

It is 2:22 PM Friday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is 76 degrees and sunny outside today. It is predicted to get hot over Labor Day Weekend.

I got up this morning around 7:10 AM. When I came upstairs everything looked it did yesterday and the day before yesterday/nothing changes around here, we just get older and weaker each passing second. Carol did not want me to make anything for breakfast, so I ate a bagel with cream cheese for a morning meal. I spent the morning writing in my paper diary and reading from a book titled, 'Life in the Son-Exploring Participation and Union with Christ in John's Gospel and Letters' by Clive Bowsher. I did leave our house around 9 o'clock AM to search for a small bookcase for my Study, but came up empty. When I got home it was around 10:10 AM and Carol was about to leave to do errands and visit her sister-in-law Gail. While Carol was gone I filmed a video for my Youtube channel and wrote in my paper diary/read 'Losing Nelson' by Unsworth/listened to music/ate lunch so Time fled by like a wounded wild boar.

Carol got home around 1:38 PM from running around. The day goes by peacefully. I have nothing else to report presently. It is the last day of August 2023, tomorrow will be September 1, 2023.

Last night I mainly read before going to bed, 'Cosmic Scholar: The Life And Times Of Harry Smith' biography by John Szwed.

I will close to face IT.

O GOD OF THE HIGHEST HEAVEN,

Occupy the throne of my heart,
take full possession and reign supreme,
lay low every rebel lust,
let no vile passion resist thy holy war;
manifest thy mighty power,
and make me thine for ever.
Thou art worthy to be
praised with my every breath,
loved with my every faculty of soul,
served with my every act of life.
Thou hast loved me, espoused me, received me,
purchased, washed, favoured, clothed,
adorned me,
when I was worthless, vile, soiled, polluted.
I was dead in iniquities,
having no eyes to see thee,
no ears to hear thee,
no taste to relish thy joys,
no intelligence to know thee;
But thy Spirit has quickened me,
has brought me into a new world as a
new creature,
has given me spiritual perception,
has opened to me thy Word as light, guide,
solace, joy.
Thy presence is to me a treasure of unending peace;
No provocation can part me from thy sympathy,
for thou hast drawn me with cords of love,
and dost forgive me daily, hourly.
O help me then to walk worthy of thy love,
of my hopes, and my vocation.
Keep me, for I cannot keep myself;
Protect me that no evil befall me;
Let me lay aside every sin admired of many;
Help me to walk by thy side, lean on thy arm,
hold converse with thee,
That henceforth I may be salt of the earth and a blessing to all.

2:40 p.m. - 2023-08-31

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act