glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the house of the dead

It is 6:23 PM Thursday evening here in Western Michigan. It is 71 degrees and gray cold skies presently. We had a rain storm blow through this morning that broke off a branch of our mulberry tree that knocked out power in our area. The Holland PBS were here right away and it was fixed/power restored in an hour and a half. But I had to dragged a TON of tree branches to our street this afternoon, which was a killer. I am an old man and not some strong young man, so I really wore myself out today! We called a Tree Service and asked how much they would cost to have the tree branches hauled away and they wanted $700.00 dollars! Totally crazy amount of money for a few tree branches hauled to our street to be picked up by the City of Holland. It is crazy how much people charge for simple things like tree removable! Everybody is greedy and is out to rob you or take advantaged of you especially old people.

So most of the day I spent cleaning up our back yard. Did not get a chance to write or read today.

In the mail I received my Field Notes order, but no books. This morning I also did not get around to reading anything. But I did read some the 'Introduction' to a book I got for my birthday titled, 'Wonder Confronts Certainty: Russian Writers on the Timeless Questions and Why Their Answers Matter' by Gary Saul Morson. What I read in this, 'Introduction' blew me absolutely away! My mind is still digesting what I read today in this 'Introduction' written by Gary Saul Morson.

Last night I finally finished reading, 'Midnight In The Century' a novel by Victor Serge.

We were planning to go to a library used books sale this morning in Hudsonville, but we had that terrible thunder wind rain storm blow through which knocked out power on out street-plus no way was I going to go anywhere in a car with a thunder storm blowing-seeking destruction of Nature and Mankind.

I will close to recover from hauling tree branches all day. Tomorrow will be a Friday, it is predicted to be sunny.

6:46 p.m. - 2023-08-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act