glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the elect will live with God

It is 1:24 PM Monday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is partly sunny, breezy and not too warm.

I got up this morning around 6:15 AM. When I came upstairs I found Carol up having her morning devotions. I made a pot of oatmeal for breakfast for Carol and I. After breakfast Carol and I had family devotions. Carol left this morning to do grocery shopping and while she was gone I read Denis The Carthusian, wrote in my paper diary, and filmed a video Monday Reads for my Youtube channel.

While outside putting fresh water in the bird bath Carol arrived home from grocery shopping.

Carol and I had lunch around 11:30 AM and now it is 1:28 PM. This day quietly goes by. This morning I have mainly read till past 12 o'clock Noon '"Voce Mea" Commentary On The Davidic Psalms Volume IV Psalms 76-100' by Denis The Carthusian Translation & Introduction by Andrew M. Greenwell.

Last night I mainly read before going to bed from a book titled, 'Goodbye Eastern Europe-An Intimate History Of A Divided Land' by Jacob Mikanowski. A couple of years ago I read this book on the history of Eastern Europe, 'From Peoples into Nations: A History of Eastern Europe' by John Connelly. Also recently I bought a used book titled, 'Eastern Europe In The Twentieth Century And After' by R. J. Crampton.

I plan this week to cool down my brain and read just a couple of books and not six or seven.

Well I will close to wait to see what comes in the mail this afternoon. I will close with a quote by Denis The Carthusian/his comments on Ps. 77 verse 6 "I thought upon the days of old: and I had in my mind the eternal years"-
"I thought upon the days of old, that is I recall the past events of old and the works of God at the beginning of the world, and during the course of the ages even up to the time this very instant, as Ecclesiastics says, "Wise men will seek out the wisdom of all the ancients, and will be occupied in the prophets." But because I will find that all things which occur under the sun are subject to vanity, therefore "I had in my mind the eternal years," that is, I reflected in my heart the day when the elect will live with God, and the reprobate in Hell, and, in consideration of the state of the future age, the eternal joy in Heaven and of the perpetual torments in Hell, I esteemed lightly all things which delight for a short time, and patiently borne whatever temporarily burdened me." pg.8,9 Denis The Carthusian

2:30 p.m. - 2023-08-07

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act