glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

rest not in general faith

It is 1:54 PM Sunday afternoon here in Western Michigan. I suppose someday I will die in Western Michigan. I can't see Carol and I moving to another place in the world. Outside this afternoon it is 79 degrees and sunny. It is nice quiet afternoon on our block. Now I have to acknowledge the street in front of our home is always busy. We see cars and trucks driving up and down our street all day. I do not why our street is so busy. Odd to see the constant traffic on our street. Where are all these people going?

I got up this morning around 7:15 AM. When I came upstairs I found Carol gone for her morning walk. When she got home she wanted me to cook her an egg for breakfast. So we had breakfast and then we had devotions. Carol left for church around 8:30 AM. I spent the morning writing in my paper diary and reading from a book titled, 'The Wells Of Salvation Opened' by William Spurstowe. I also filmed a video this morning for my Youtube channel/preparing my August 2023 Paper Diary and what I have been reading in the mornings.

Last night we went down the street to have dinner with our oldest son and his family. We were home around 6:30 PM. I read till I went to bed, 'Zuckerman Bound A Trilogy And Epilogue' four complete novels in one volume by Philip Roth.

I do not know what I will read this afternoon. I will close to drift. Carol is taking a nap.

Tomorrow will be the last day of July 2023. We will be in the month of August 2023 this week.

1 Redeemer! whither should I flee,
Or how escape the wrath to come?
The weary sinner flies to thee
For shelter from impending doom;
Smile on me, gracious Lord, and show
Thyself the Friend of sinners now.

2 Beneath the shadow of thy cross
The heavy-laden soul finds rest;
I would esteem the world but dross,
So I might be of Christ possessed.
I’d seek my every joy in thee,
Be thou both life and light to me.

3 Close to the ignominious tree,
Jesus, my humbled soul would cleave;
Despised and crucified with thee,
With thee resolved to die and live;
This prayer and this ambition mine,
Living and dying to be thine.

4 There, fastened to the rugged wood
By holy love’s resistless chain,
And life deriving from thy blood,
Never to wander wide again,
There may I bow my suppliant knee,
And own no other Lord but thee.

2:09 p.m. - 2023-07-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act