glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Christ Returneth! Hallelujah!

Last Friday when I met Tim for coffee we got to talking about the old gospel hymns. Tim sung to part of the gospel hymn titled "Christ Returneth" to me. I do not remember ever singing this old gospel hymn.

I got out an old hymnal that I got somewhere over the years titled, "Gospel Hymns No.5" By Ira D. Sankey, James McGranaha, and George C. Stebbings published in 1890. This hymnal was used during the D. L. Moody revivals. Ira Sankey led the music in these Moody revivals.

It may be at morn, when the day is awaking,
When sunlight through darkness and shadow is breaking
That Jesus will come in the fullness of glory
To receive from the world "His own."

Refrain

O Lord Jesus, how long, how long
Ere we shout the glad song,
Christ returneth! Hallelujah!
Hallelujah! Amen. Hallelujah! Amen.

It may be at midday, it may be at twilight,
It may be, perchance, that the blackness of midnight
Will burst into light in the blaze of His glory,
When Jesus receives "His own."

Refrain

While its hosts cry Hosanna, from heaven descending,
With glorified saints and the angels attending,
With grace on His brow, like a halo of glory,
Will Jesus receive "His own."

Refrain

Oh, joy! oh, delight! should we go without dying,
No sickness, no sadness, no dread and no crying.
Caught up through the clouds with our Lord into glory,
When Jesus receives "His own."

Refrain

In this old hymnal is one of my favorite old gospel hymns titled "Beulah Land".

I�ve reached the land of corn and wine,
And all its riches freely mine;
Here shines undimmed one blissful day,
For all my night has passed away.

Refrain

O Beulah Land, sweet Beulah Land,
As on thy highest mount I stand,
I look away across the sea,
Where mansions are prepared for me,
And view the shining glory shore,
My Heav�n, my home forever more!

My Savior comes and walks with me,
And sweet communion here have we;
He gently leads me by His hand,
For this is Heaven�s border land.

Refrain

A sweet perfume upon the breeze,
Is borne from ever vernal trees,
And flow�rs, that never fading grow
Where streams of life forever flow.

Refrain

The zephyrs seem to float to me,
Sweet sounds to Heaven�s melody,
As angels with the white robed throng
Join in the sweet redemption song.

Refrain

I will close to sing the old songs of Zion.

3:30 p.m. - 2013-02-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
mal-adjusted
weatethesea
lobo21
tobehis
raven72d
newschick
msjessica
jondavid2010
journey2one
freakyouout
realthoughts
trapeze-act
fragilegirl8
fan4