glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

complete salvation will come to the faithful

It is 9:39 AM Tuesday morning. It is 28 degrees this morning here in the land of Dutch Reformed. But there is no snow on the ground yet here in West Michigan. I wonder when it will snow here. Usually by this times of the year we have had some snow fall. It is too cold though to go out into the American wasteland.

I got up this morning around 7 o'clock AM. A very disturbing dream drove me out of bed this morning. I also woke up experiencing the pangs of religious doubt. It is a blessing to not doubt the reality of the Lord Jesus Christ. I have to believe that the Lord Jesus Christ is my Friend in order to face life in this world.

When I got up this morning I did the usual things. My wife got home from work around 9 o'clock AM and has gone to bed for the day. She is off from work the next two nights.

Last night I got out "The Works of Richard Sibbes" 7 volumes and read him till 10 o'clock PM. I watched a television show and went to bed around 11 o'clock PM. Now I am down in our open basement writing in my blogs. I already wrote this morning two pages in my paper diary.

Yesterday afternoon I listened to a lecture by Dr. Joel Beeke titled, "Richard Sibbes on Entertaining the Holy Spirit". This lecture by Dr. Beeke was delivered at the 2011 Puritan Reformed Conference.

I have been reading the writings of Richard Sibbes for many years. You can not go wrong reading the writings of the 17th century English Puritans. I started reading the writings of the Puritans 37 years ago. I have in my library over 2000 works by the Puritans. How many books do you have fellow Christian by the 17th century English Puritans?

This morning I have been reading a treatise by Richard Sibbes titled, "A Fountain Sealed: OR, The duty of the sealed to the Spirit, and the worke of the Spirit in Sealing. Wherein Many things are handled about the Holy Spirit, and grieving of it: As also Of assurance and sealing what it is, the priviledges and degrees of it, with the signes to discerne, and means to preserve it." (first published in 1638). Back in the 1970's The Banner of Truth Trust reprinted the "Works of Richard Sibbes" 7 Volumes. I urge you to go out and buy the set. I bought my set of Sibbes back in the 1970's.

So the morning goes by. I have nothing to do today to bring in the kingdom. We are to pray each day what is revealed in the Lord's Prayer found in the Gospel of Matthew, "In this manner, therefore, pray; Our Father in heaven, Hallowed be Your name. Your kingdom come. Your will be done On earth as it is in heaven. Give us this day our daily bread. And forgive us our debts, As we forgive our debtors. And do not lead us into temptation, But deliver us from the evil one. For Yours is the kingdom and the power and the glory forever. Amen." Matthew 6:9-13.

The last book I read on the Lord's Prayer was titled, "Ain't Too Proud to Beg: Living Through the Lord's Prayer" by Telford Work. I recommend another book by Telford Work titled, "Living and Active: Scripture in the Economy of Salvation".

I suppose I should put on my street rags and go buy two pounds of Mexican coffee. There is no way of escape.

Richard Sibbes (1577-1635)

"The Works of Richard Sibbes" 7 Volumes
The Works of Richard Sibbes

10:17 a.m. - 2011-12-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

raven72d
gr8legs
gonzoprophet
newschick
kabukicharms
x--8letters
jondavid2010
realthoughts
msboston
exegetical
journey2one
coldwars
jedidiah77
koorikaze
freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
fan4
msjessica
broken-in-nc
poolagirl
talktogod
joy-in-god
oldjake
trapeze-act