glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the Lord's Prayer

It is 10:41 AM Wednesday morning. I decided to walk the dog around the block and not go anywhere this morning. It is a nice day and tomorrow it is suppose to snow. I thought of going out for another walk by myself, but not in the mood. So here I sit in our dining room talking to my Self on my lap top.

Sad to read about Tiger Woods and his adulterous affairs. "Whoever commits adultery with a woman lacks understanding; He who does so destroys his own soul" Proverbs 6:32.

Last night I read some more of the Gospel of Luke. I read Luke chapter 11 which opens with the The Model Prayer---

"Now it came to pass, as He was praying in a certain place, when He ceased, that one of His disciples said to Him, "Lord, teach us to pray, as John also taught his disciples." So He said to them, "When you pray, say:
"Our Father in heaven,
Hallowed be Your name.
Your kingdom come.
Your will be done
On earth as it is in heaven.
Give us day by day our daily
bread.
And forgive us our sins,
For we also forgive everyone
who is indebted to us.
And do not lead us into
temptation,
But deliver us from the evil one."" Luke 11:1-4

I recently read a book on the Lord's Prayer titled "Ain't Too Proud to Beg: Living through the Lord's Prayer" by Telford Work.

Years ago when I did my minister internship in Houston Texas (We lived in Houston TX from 1986 till 1991. We moved here to Holland Mich. July 1991. My wife grew up here in Holland and this is her home town. I grew up mainly in outer space.) I taught an Adult Sunday Class on the History and Practice of Prayer.

I have bought over the years many books on prayer. My favorite books on Prayer and Contemplative Prayer are the following ones---

1. "The Collected Works Of St. John of the Cross" translated by Kavanaugh and Rodriguez

2. "The Spiritual Writings of Denis the Carthusian" Translated into English by Ide M. Ni Riain, RSCJ, with an Introduction by Terence O'Reilly

3. "The Cloud Of Unknowing" written by an anonymous English monk during the late fourteenth century

4. "Carthusian Spirituality: The Writings Of Hugh Of Balam And Guigo De Ponte

5. "Writings From The Philokalia On Prayer Of The Heart" Translated by E. Kadloubovsky and G.E.H. Palmer

6. "The Spiritual Espousals And Other Works" by John Ruusbroec [The Classics of Western Spirituality]

I always tell myself that if I live to be super old that I will sell my library but keep the above books. I will have the above books on Prayer and Contemplative Prayer next to my Bible in my cell.

I try to read the above books all the time. I read recently "The Spiritual Espousals" by Ruusbroec and want to read next "The Works of St. John of the Cross".

The most important thing is to pray without ceasing. The Christian life is a life of prayer.

This morning I was reading this excellent book on the Lord's Prayer-"Jesus, The Tribulation, And The End Of The Exile: Restoration Eschatology and the Origin of the Atonement" by Brant Pitre.

It is good for us to understand the Lord's model prayer in its historical context/setting. How did the Lord's disciples understand the Lord's Prayer?

While we are on the subject of prayer I will mention some other books on prayer.

My wife reads this book on Prayer for her devotions "The Valley of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers and Devotions" edited by Arthur Bennett (published by the Banner of Truth Trust).

I have on a end table by my side of our bed this book on top of a Bible "The Private Devotions Of Lancelot Andrews" Translated by John Henry Newman and John Mason Neale edited by William S. Peterson.

It is 11:32 AM late Wednesday morning. I will quote from the devotional book "The Private Devotions of Lancelot Andrews" ( bought this book many years ago when I was a student at Reformed Bible College).

"Times Of Prayer
Always (S. Luke 18.1). Without ceasing (1 Thess. 5.17). At all times (Eph. 6.18). Samuel among as call His name (Ps 99.6). God forbid that I should sin against the Lord in ceasing to pray for you and shewing you the good and the right way (1 Sam. 12.23). We will give ourselves continually to prayer and to the ministry of the word (Acts 6.4). He kneeled upon his knees three times a day, and prayed and gave thanks before his God, as he did aforetime (Dan. 6.10). In the evening, and morning, and at noonday will I pray, and that instantly, and He shall hear my voice (Ps. 4.18).

Seven times a day do I praise Thee (Ps. 119.164). (1) In the morning, a great while before day (S. Mark 1.35). (2) In the morning watch (Ps. 43. 6; see also Ps. 130.6). (3) The third hour of the day (Acts 2.15). (4) About the sixth hour (Acts 10.9). (5) The hour of prayer, the ninth (Acts 3.1). (6) The eventide (Gen. 24.63). (7) By night (Ps. 134.2).-At midnight (Ps. 119.62).

Places of Prayer
In all places where I record My Name, I will come to thee, and I will bless thee (Ex. 20.24). Let Thine eyes be open towards this house night and day, even toward the place of which Thou hast said, My Name shall be there; that Thou mayest hearken unto the prayer which Thy servant shall make towards this place (1 Kings 8.29). Thou that hearest the prayer, unto Thee shall all flesh come. The fierceness of man shall turn to Thy praise, and the fierceness of them shalt Thou refrain. As for me, I will come into Thy house, even upon the multitude of Thy mercy, and in Thy fear will I worship toward Thy Holy Temple. Hear the voice of my humble petitions, when I cry unto Thee; when I hold up my hands towards the mercy seat of Thy Holy Temple. We wait for Thy loving-kindness, O God, in the midst of Thy Temple.

Among the faithful and in the congregation (Ps. 111.1). Enter into thy closet, and when thou hast shut thy door, pray to thy Father which is in secret (S Matt. 6.6). They went up into an upper room (Acts 1.13). He went up upon the housetop to pray (Acts 10.9). They went up together into the Temple (Acts 21.5). He went forth over the brook Cedron, where was a garden (S John 18.1). Let them rejoice in their beds (Ps 149.5). He departed into a desert place and there prayed (Mark 1.35). In every place lifting up holy hands without wrath and doubting (1 Tim. 2.8).

Circumstances Of Prayer
Kneeling, humiliation. He kneeled down and prayed (S Luke 22.41). He went a little further, and fell on His face, and prayed (S Matt. 26.39). My soul is brought low, even unto the dust, my belly cleaveth unto the ground. Sinking the head, shame. Drooping the face (Ezra 9.6). Smiting the breast (S Luke 18.13), indignation. Shuddering (Acts 16.29), fear. Groaning (Isa. 59.11), sorrow. Clasping of hands. Raising of eyes and hands (Pss 25.15; 143.6), vehement desire. Blows (Ps. 73.14), revenge (2 Cor. 7.2)." pg. 1,2

Well I will close to wander my cell

music: Early Day Miners "Let Us Garlands Bring"

12:02 p.m. - 2009-12-02

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

exegetical
journey2one
coldwars
freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
silverluna
fan4
oldjake
jedidiah77
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
koorikaze
talktogod