glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

keep watch, because you do not know the day or the hour

It is 11:04 AM Thursday morning in the flow of existence. It is 11:04 AM here in Holland Michigan. I do not know what time it is in London England. We change the clocks this coming Saturday. Where does Time go?

I got up this morning around 7:44 AM. I woke up this morning around 3:05 AM and thought I would not be able to fall back into the state of restless sleep. But I did fall back into a state of slumber. (�The bridegroom was a long time in coming, and they all became drowsy and fell asleep� Matt. 25:5 The Parable of the Ten Virgins)

If you want to read a scary book read �The Parable of the Ten Virgins� by Thomas Shepard (1605-1649).

When I got up this morning I made a pot of coffee and got out my Bibles [my large print NIV and my large print NJK) and read some more of the Gospel of Matthew located in the New Covenant treaty. ("Then he took the cup, gave thanks and offered it to them, saying, "Drink from it, all of you. This is my blood of the covenant, which is poured out for many for the forgiveness of sins. I tell you, I will not drink of this fruit of the vine from now on until that day when I drink it anew with you in my Father's kingdom."" Matt. 26:27-29)

After I read some of the Word of God I wrote in my private diary. (I started keeping a private diary in 1968 Richmond California 11th grade just a wild kid smoking week, dropping acid and chasing girls).

Carol got home from work as I was warming up a egg dish for a morning meal. We talked a little and she went to bed for the day. I was thinking of going to a used book sale this morning, but I was not in the mood to drive out of town. I decided to stay here in town and write in my blogs. I took Rudy for a walk this morning at Kollen Park and then decided to check out a local thrift store to see if they had new used books. This thrift store today was having 50% off all their books so I looked and found these used books to ADD to my book collection (I tell people I collect books for a hobby-I am a book lover (check out these books "A Gentle Madness: Bibliophiles, Bibliomanes, and the Eternal Passion for Books" by Nicholas A. Basbanes and "A History of Reading" by Alberto Manguel).

"This is the disciple who testifies to these things and who wrote them down. We know that his testimony is true. Jesus did many other things as well. If every one of them were written down, I suppose that even the whole world would not have room for the books that would be written" John 21:24,25

Carol went to bed while I was down in the basement this morning. I decided to take Rudy for a walk and then I drove to a local thrift shop and found these books for my personal library---

"Bullet Park" a novel by John Cheever (this book is a hard back with a nice clean cover-very cool looking!)

"The Spiral Staircase: My Climb out of Darkness" a memoir by Karen Armstrong

"Days Of Obligation: An Argument with My Mexican Father" by Richard Rodriguez

"The Era Of Good Feelings" by George Dangerfield ("America comes of age in the period of Monroe and Adams between the War of 1812 and the ascendancy of Jackson") Winner of the Pulitzer and Bancroft Prize

"Living to Tell the Tale" a novel by Gabriel Garcia Marquez

"Isak Dinesen: The Life of a Storyteller" a biography by Judith Thurman (Winner of the 1983 American Book Award). Isak Dinesen wrote the novel "Out of Africa".

After buying these used books for $4.00 I went downtown and got me a mocha and came home to float through the day. It is now 11:40 AM late Thursday morning. I have no plans for the day. Should I feel guilty having no plans? I pray to the Lord to forgive me for my sins. I want my life to be covered with the blood of the Lamb of God. I know my sins and can only cry out for mercy. I live in the shadow of the Cross. "I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me. I do not set aside the grace of God, for if righteousness could be gained through the law, Christ died for nothing!"" Galatians 2:20, 21.

I have to read today many books but I have these on top of my Bibles today---

"The Aims Of Jesus" by Ben F. Meyer With a New Introduction by N. T. Wright (check out this book my dear readers sometime "Jesus & The Restoration Of Israel: A Critical Assessment of N. T. Wright's "Jesus And The Victory Of God"" Edited by Carey C. Newman)

"Future Israel: Why Christian Anti-Judaism Must Be Challenged" by Barry E. Horner [NAC Studies In Bible & Theology]

I recently bought in this series NAC Studies In Bible & Theology this volume �The End Of The Law: Mosaic Covenant In Pauline Theology� by Jason C. Meyer. I have been meaning to look at this volume in this series �Believer�s Baptism: Sign Of The New Covenant In Christ� Edited by Thomas R. Schreiner and Shawn D. Wright.

The last book I tried to read on the doctrine of baptism was this massive book �Baptism In The Early Church: History, Theology, and Liturgy in the First Five Centuries� by Everett Ferguson.

I read too much and need to live a holy life before the world goes up in smoke.

Well I will close to put away my books and try to locate my brain.

music: Black Rebel Motorcycle Club �Howl�

12:10 p.m. - 2009-10-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

koorikaze
coldwars
journey2one
freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
realthoughts
talktogod