glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

where are Real men of God to be found?

It is 2:02 PM Monday afternoon in the flow of existence. Carol has gone to bed for the day and I have been watching birds at the bird feeder outside the kitchen window.

I got up this morning around 7 o'clock AM. I woke up thinking about american christian civil religion television. Yesterday I saw on TV on a religious television station a young fellow with hair over his face singing into a mike some sugar sweet religious song about Jesus. The fellow with the hair over his face had two back-up singers who looked like truck drivers for a hog farm. On another religious television station I watched a big fat fellow dressed like a banker with a thick southern accent selling prayer clothes and declaring by His stripes we are healed. On another religious station was another fat preacher speaking in cute little sound-bites about I do not know what? The fat preacher was so full of himself. The fat preacher had his crowd doing all kinds of weird stuff. It was pretty depressing watching american christianity on television yesterday. I have yet to hear any solid biblical preaching on TV. One can rarely find today the pure preaching of the Gospel of the Kingdom of God.

Television preachers are for the most part religious entertainers, not men full of the Holy Spirit living a Christ-like life. Where are Real men of God to be found?

To me such much of american christianity is unreal. I do not think TV preachers have any clue how normal people live. I always tell folks read your Bible and pray. We have to live a Christian life that is rooted in the teachings of the Bible. Christianity has to be lived out in a world where people work, raise kids, worry about paying bills, war, death, divorce, shopping malls etc. . . It is a mystery to me the spiritual life. All I can do is live a life of unceasing prayer. Live and love in the presence of the Lord. Practice the presence of God each day. Live an attitude of faith-trust-dependence-spiritual delight and hunger. If we draw near to the Lord in faith, He will draw near to us.

So I got up this morning to find my wife working on a Bible study. I made myself a cup of tea and messed with the computer. I next cooked breakfast for us. Carol left for a 9:30 AM dentist appointment. I cleaned the kitchen and wandered the house.

Now it is 2:11 PM Monday afternoon. Josiah called us from California this afternoon. Carol wrote to Caleb Jon today. We hope Beth has a good week and that her boyfriend Andy makes it home safe from his business trip. Existence keeps flowing by for us all. We can not stop the passing of Time.

I have not read anything today. Yesterday I got into reading one of my books on the life and times of William James. I went to bed around 10 o'clock PM last night. I do not know when Carol came to bed.

Well I will close to sit and wait.

music: M83 "Saturdays=Youth"

2:30 p.m. - 2008-11-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts