glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

let us go forth to Him outside the camp

The first day of work week number 686 goes by thus far normal. It is going on 1 o�clock PM Sunday afternoon. Our son Josiah flies into GR around 4 o�clock PM today from New Mexico. It looks like Carol is going to pick him up at the Kent County Airport. I might go with her if I feel flooded with the peace of God.

I have been basically today been reading my books. I have also eaten food and looked through some sections of the Sunday New York Times. It has been thus far a quiet Sunday.

Carol has gone to bed to sleep, Beth is watching TV and Caleb Jon is down in the basement.

I am sitting in my main study reading my books and listening the music of Bardo Pond. A couple of years ago I saw in concert with Mogwai the band Bardo Pond.

I have these CD�s by Bardo Pond in my music collection---

Bardo Pond �Ticket Crystals�

Bardo Pond �Lapsed�

Bardo Pond �Amanita�

Bardo Pond �Bufo alvarius, amen 29:15.�

Bardo Pond �Set and Setting�

Bardo Pond �Dilate�

So here I sit in my study at my desk talking to my Self once again. I have been reading from these books lately when not hauling steel cart of eggs in the middle of Dutch Reformed corn field hell.

�God�s Indwelling Presence: The Holy Spirit In The Old & New Testaments� by James M. Hamilton

�Old Testament Theology: Israel�s Faith� Volume Two by John Goldingay

�Romans� [Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary] by Charles H. Talbert

�Adopted into God�s Family: Exploring a Pauline Metaphor� by Trevor J. Burke

music: Bardo Pond �Ticket Crystals�

music: Mogwai �Rock Action�

music: Junior Boys �so this is goodbye�

music: TV On The Radio �Return to Cookie Mountain�

music: The Knife �Silent Shout�

music: Psychic Ills �Early Violence�

music: Ludicrous �Fex Urbis Lex Orbis�

music: Pyschic Ills �Dints�

music: Isis �Oceanic�

music: Apparat & Ellen Allien �Orchestra of Bubbles�

music: Yo La Tengo �A Smattering Of Outakes And Rarities 1986-2002�

Now it is 1:19 PM Sunday afternoon. This morning before my wife left for church I thought about going with her since it is the Sunday before Christ Mass. But when I thought about attending Covenant PCA this morning with my wife I started to feel like I was being suffocated. I could take the massive waves of pain that would hit me walking into a church building filled with american Christians. It would be a huge denial of reality attending Covenant PCA.So I stayed home this morning mourning the spiritual condition of american Christianity. I prayed for a revival to come and swept us into the full blazing light of divine Reality which can be experience in the eternal Now.

Of course it is their word against mine that I am in Reality and they are not. It all comes down to Faith in the end.

I should close and read some more of my new commentary on the Epistle to the Romans for Sunday devotions. In my study right now I have these books on the Epistle to the Romans and Pauline Theology. How many american Christians have near their lap top these books on Pauline Christianity?

�Romans� [Smyth & Helwys Bible Commentary] by Charles H. Talbert

�Paul�s Letter to the Romans: A Socio-Rhetorical Commentary� by Ben Witherington III with Darlene Hyatt

�Apostle Of The Crucified Lord: A Theological Introduction To Paul & His Letters� by Michael J. Gorman

�Perspectives Old And New On Paul: The �Lutheran� Paul and His Critics� by Stephen Westerholm

�Contours Of Pauline Theology: A Radical New Survey Of The Influences On Paul�s Biblical Writings� by Tom Holland

�Apostle Paul: His Life and Theology� by Udo Schnelle translator M. Eugene Boring

As I typed out the above list of books near me in this room in the middle of nowhere I recalled that when I attended church people would looked at me as being stupid and not knowing the teachings of the Bible. I was looked down upon especially by old Dutch Reformed people because I had gone to Reformed Bible College (1978-1981) and Reformed Theological Seminary (1982-1986). It seems to me american Christians are totally anti-intellectual. When I went to church I found it extremely odd that professing Christians did not study the Bible like me. But once again I suppose I am a holy spiritual freak.

�Therefore let us go forth to Him outside the camp, bearing His reproach� Hebrews 13:13

It is now 1:49 PM Sunday afternoon. Well I suppose I will close to pray and read the Bible before the end of the world comes.

�But solid food belongs to those who are of full age, that is, those who by reason of use have their senses exercised to discern both good and evil� Hebrews 5:14

�Therefore, laying aside all malice, all deceit, hypocrisy, envy, and all evil speaking, as newborn babies, desire the pure milk of the word, that you may grow thereby, if indeed you have tasted that the Lord is gracious� 1 Peter 2:1-3

�But above all these things put on love, which is the bond of perfection. And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to which also you were called in one body; and be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord� Colossians 3:14-16

music: Bardo Pond �Ticket Crystals�

4:43 p.m. - 2006-12-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts