glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I want you to make love to me till the sun burns out

I am from work. I work as a professional egg hauler at the Hamilton Farm Bureau-Egg Division. From eternity it was the will of God I be a professional egg hauler and not an evangelist or a gospel minister. I look to the Lord to give me the grace to accept my divine vacation.

Anyway I am home from another day of hard physical labor. I worked today from 7:30 AM till 4 o�clock PM. When I got home I found Carol up cooking and the kids in the living room (my kids are not little Beth is 21 and Josiah is 23). Beth and Josiah left to visit some park and Carol is still slaving away in the kitchen. Carol is off from work tonight. Last night she was put on call by the hospital, but got called in to work around 2 o�clock in the morning.

Last night after Carol got fully woke up we went out grocery shopping and then downtown Holland to JP�s for coffee. While downtown we stopped at the Full Circle to talk to Steve and to buy some music. We were home around 9 o�clock PM. I went to bed around 9:30 PM and read some more of the novel �Seven Types Of Ambiguity� by Elliot Perlman.

For evening devotions I read some of Bavinck�s �Reformed Dogmatics� SIN AND SALVATION IN CHRIST Volume 3. Here is a taste of what I read last night---

�And so, on the day of Pentecost, he sends that Spirit in order by the Spirit to apply all his benefits to his church. The Holy Spirit does not acquire those benefits nor add a single benefit, for Christ has accomplished everything. In no respect is the Spirit the meriting cause of our salvation. That is Christ alone, in whom the fullness of the Godhead dwells bodily and whose work therefore does not need to be augmented or improved. On the contrary, the Holy Spirit takes everything from Christ: as the Son came to glorify the Father, so the Holy Spirit in turn came down to glorify the Son. To that Son he bears witness; out of his fullness, he communicates grace upon grace; he leads people to that Son and through the Son to the Father. He applies all Christ�s benefits, to each in his measure, at his time, according to his order.

He does not stop his activity before he has made the fullness of Christ to dwell in his church and the church has reached maturity, �the measure of the full stature of Christ� (Eph. 4:13). The activity of the Holy Spirit is therefore nothing but an applicatory one. The order of redemption is the application of salvation (applicatio salutis). The relevant question, therefore, is decidedly not, What must a person do to be saved? But only, What is God doing in his grace to make the church participate in the complete salvation acquired by Christ? Also the �application of salvation� is a work of God that must be viewed theologically, not anthropologically, which from beginning to end (�economically� speaking) has the Holy Spirit as its author and may be called his special work. The whole �way of salvation� is the �applicatory grace of the Holy Spirit.�� pg. 572 Herman Bavinck

Well I will close to rest.

5:41 p.m. - 2006-03-23

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts