glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the appetites weaken a soul and make it lukewarm in the practice of virtue

the appetites weaken a soul and make it lukewarm in the practice of virtue

I am recovering from work sitting at my computer messing around listening to a CD by Grandaddy. I got out of work at 2:30 PM and now the computer tells me the time is 3:50 PM. I am tired and I am glad I am Off the next four days from work. I am off tomorrow and Friday and also the weekend. Tomorrow is my birth day. So I do not have to be at work till next week. So here I sit wasted not sure what to record next? At work I had the typical junk on my brain. At lunch break after eating my bagel I read THE ASCENT OF MOUNT CARMEL by St. John of the Cross. I always get blessed reading St. John of the Cross. I have been reading St. John of the Cross for 33 years. I think I have read St. John of the Cross as much as I have read the Bible. One of the first Christian books I bought 33 years ago was St. John of the Cross's mystical treatise THE SPIRITUAL CANTICLE. I still have that paperback in my book collection. I also bought around the same time (1972) St. John of the Cross's treatise The Ascent of Mount Carmel. I do not remember when I first read The Dark Night? Many years ago I was in a Catholic bookstore in San Francisco and bought a volume containing The Collected Writings of St. John of the Cross. I had this book up till I was a seminary student. I sold the book in seminary to a friend and bought another copy which I still have right now next to me The Collected Works of St. John of the Cross translated by Kieran Kavanaugh and Otilio Rodriguez. I love this book! St. John of the Cross was a man after my own heart spiritually. I am not saying I agree with him all the time because I read him as a Protestant calvinist evangelical Bible student so I do reject some of his Roman Catholic doctrine. But he has a fine view of the basic road of the spiritual life.

Last night I do not remember what I did. I think I read the book The Voice of Jesus by Smith and went to bed early.

Well I am going to close since I am fading. Work was a killer today!

http://www.btinternet.com/~preachword/transcripts/phil08.html

[listening to Grandaddy "Sumday"]

4:16 p.m. - 2003-08-13

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts