glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

we must not despair of God's mercy

we must not despair of God's mercy

It is 7:25 PM Monday night and I am tired from work. It was a normal Monday at work. At work time went by slowly, but the Lord got me to the end of another workday. I got home from work at 4:20 PM. There was no mail today because it is federal holiday. When I walked in the house from work I found Beth watching a cooking show on the television and Carol sleeping. I ate two hot dogs and looked through the morning paper before taking a shower. After cleaning up from work I wrote down my work hours and put away what I wrote at lunch break. I next checked the computer for e-mail. After reading e-mail and responding I left to go to a Christian bookstore to look at a book on Christian Spirituality to see if it was worth buying. I went to the bookstore and looked at the book I decided it was not worth buying. After the bookstore I put gas in the caravan and came home. We ate dinner and Carol talked to me about work. So has gone by my evening. I am tired and plan to go to bed early. I thought Carol was off tonight, but she is off tomorrow night.

I got out this evening a book titled "The Bible in the Church: A Short History of Interpretation" by Robert M. Grant to look at. This book came to my mind today as I worked. This book is a good book to check out when looking into the way the Reformers interpreted the Bible back in the 16th century. I collect books on the history of how the Bible has been interpreted throughout history. I will quote right now from volume 1 "Dictionary of Biblical Intrepretation the article on John Calvin "Exegetically, Calvin had two guiding principles. Brevitas indicated his concern to find the "pertinence" and "relevance" of a passage in as short a compass as possible. Facilitas indicated his concern for "simplicity" or "what is easily understood." He quickly sought Scripture's natural and obvious meaning. Believing the commentator's "almost only task" is "to unfold the mind of the writer whom he has undertaken to expound" (Commentary on Romans dedication to S. Grynaeus), he wished to expound the plain, genuine, natural, or literal sense of Scripture. This involved him in extensive study of the backgrounds, circumstances, language, and contexts of every text" pg.160

Time has gone by-as I was writing Joe stopped by with a college friend. They were in town attending a lecture. They just left to go back to Calvin College; we will see Joe Thursday evening. Time is now 8:38 PM. I have lost my train of thought. I was going to go into Calvin's view of interpreting the Bible, but now I am too tired.

At work I had nothing new on my brain. Last night we went to church and we were home by 8:30 PM. I watched television and went to bed around 11 o'clock PM. Soon it was time to get up and face a new workweek. Tomorrow is a Tuesday.

Well I suppose I will close to wait to go to bed.

history of biblical interpretation

It is 9:29 PM Carol went to bed till it is time for her to get up to get ready for work. I have nothing to do but to talk to myself and look at my books on biblical interpretation. I have two books next to me that I recommend one read on the history of biblical interpretation. The books are "Historical Handbook Of Major Biblical Interpreters" Editor Donald K. McKim and "Biblical Interpretation Past & Present" [A Comprehensive Textbook & Resource] by Gerald Bray. In the book "Historical Handbook Of Major Biblical Interpreters" there is an excellent article on Calvin by D. L. Puckett. I have in my book collection Puckett's book "John Calvin's Exegesis of the Old Testament." [check these books out sometimes "The Interpretation Of The New Testament 1861-1986" by Stephen Neill and Tom Wright and "The Old Testament Since The Reformation" by Emil G. Kraeling]. In April Eerdmans is coming out with a major new multivolume work on the history of biblical interpretation titled "A History of Biblical Interpretation: Volume 1: The Ancient Period" Editors Alan J. Hauser and Duane F. Watson. I look forward to adding this work to my book collection. Well I am all of sudden out of stream so I will close to feel tired. I want to look at before the night is over a book titled "Commentary Upon The Book Of The Revelation" by James Durham. Last night our pastor preached a sermon giving an overview of the Book of Revelation. Here is the outline-

General Outline of the Book of Revelation

Jesus Christ dwells in the midst of the Church (Chapters 1-3)

1. Jesus walks in the midst of the churches.

2-3 Jesus writes a letter to each of the seven churches

Jesus Christ, the Lamb on the throne, executes judgment (Ch.4-7)

4-5 Jesus Christ sits on the throne with His Father

6 The Lamb opens the seven seals of judgment.

7 The seal of God protects the Church from judgment.

Jesus Christ preserves the Church through history. (Chapts.8-11)

8-9,11:15ff The seven angels blow their trumpets of judgment.

10-11:14 Reassurance to the Church and her messengers

Jesus Christ engages Satan in battle (Chapters 12-14)

12 Jesus Christ's birth, His escape from and victory over Satan

13 Satan pursues and persecutes the Church of Jesus Christ

14 Assurance that Jesus Christ will deliver the Church with His final judgment

Jesus Christ increases the intensity of His judgment upon His adversary, the Devil (Chapters 15-16)

15 The 7 bowls of wrath which will bring an end to God's adversary are announced.

16 The 7 bowls of wrath are poured out.

Jesus Christ strikes Satan just short of the last blow. (For all intents and purposes Satan has been defeated. Chapters 17-19)

17 The vision of the great harlot

18 The judgment of the great harlot

19 Victoriously Jesus Christ delivers His Church

Jesus Christ establishes His Kingdom (chapters 20-22).

20 Jesus Christ's millennial reign and the eternal judgment of His adversary

21-22 The New Jerusalem: God dwells eternally with His people

10:48 p.m. - 2002-01-21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts