glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

arctic hysteria

arctic hysteria

It is going on 1 o'clock Satuday afternoon and I am tired from being alive. I went and got Josiah at Calvin College this morning in Grand Rapids. Calvin College is not far from where we live so I was at his dorm at 9:37 AM. We packed the car and on the way home we stopped at The Bookstore where I looked around, talked to a fellow about books and religion in America. I did not see anything that I had so I just picked up the book I had called to have set aside for me, the book is titled "The God Of The Gospel Of John" by Marianne Meye Thompson. Joe waited for me in the car as I looked around the bookstore and talked to other book freaks. Next we stopped at a CD store where I picked up the new Pulp CC "We Love Life" and a CD by Black Rebel Motorcycle Club "B.R.M.C.". We came home after the CD store. I found Carol making potato salad when we got home. I ate lunch and talked to Carol as I ate my bagel sandwich. Now here I sit tired rocking to the music of the Black Rebel Motorcycle Club. All I have read today is the morning paper and the new issue of MAGNET real music alternatives magazine. I have mainly been reading lately the book "The Religion of Paul the Apostle" by John Ashton.

At the The Bookstore I got to talking to a fellow (I tend to talk to strangers if I notice they are looking at a book that excites me). The fellow had in his hands the book "The Faith of Jesus Christ: The Narrative Substructure of Galatians 3:1-4:11" by Richard B. Hays. I told the fellow I had been reading that book and Hays had mentioned in his new introduction a book he should consider buying. I pulled off the shelf for this fellow to check out the book titled "Cruciformity: Paul's Narrative Spirituality of the Cross" by Michael J. Gorman. This fellow and I had a good little rap among the books. The fellow was not a minister, but like me a factory worker. The fellow went to a church called the Church of the Servant. The way the fellow described the church it sounded to liberal for my taste. I am a Pauline mystic and prefer silence on Sunday and not a contemporary worship service American style. So the bookstore experience was interesting. In talking to this fellow I was trying to remember a book for him to check out if he liked Hays book "Echoes Of Scripture In The Letters Of Paul" I can not remember the author of the book, but I have the book next to me now. The book I wanted the fellow to check out is titled "Israel's Scripture Traditions and the Synoptic Gospels: Story, Shaping Story" by Willard M. Swartley. I could have talked to these fellows all day but Joe was in the car waiting for me. I rarely find anyone to talk to about books.

I am tired and need to go lay down.

1:41 p.m. - 2001-12-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts