glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

admire lovers of the Lord Jesus not the reprobate

admire the lives and writings of lovers of the Lord Jesus Christ

I am home from work. I have been home since 4:20 PM. In the mail I received a letter from my pen pal who lives in Wales United Kingdom. In his letter he mentioned a commentary on 2nd Thessalonians by Dr. John Eadie. My pen pal wrote "It is out of print and I have never been able to locate a copy." In my library I have a set of commentaries (paperback) by Dr. John Eadie (1810-1872) Vo. 1 Galatians, Vol. 2 Ephesians, Vol. 3 Philippians, Vol. 4 Colossians and Vol. 5 Thessalonians. I bought this set maybe 13 years ago from Baker Book House. I think you still can buy the set. I need to write an e-mail to my pen pal and tell him one can buy Eadie's commentaries today. I bought these commentaries years ago and have never used them. I think I bought them on sale.

When I got home I found Carol drinking coffee looking through the mail and Beth watching television. I cleaned up and checked the computer for e-mail. Had an e-mail from Ian and wrote back to him. Today at work I thought about saint Ian and thought I should tell him to exercise discernment when reading the writings of the Beats. I read the Beats mainly because of my interest in American literature and American cultural history. I do not admire the Beats. I admire men like J. Edwards. John Calvin and St. John of the Cross. Christians are to admire only holy men/lovers of the Lord Jesus Christ. I have an intellectual interest in the Beats and also 19th cent. American Transcendentalism. Christians can learn spiritual lessons from reading the lives of the Beats and the American Transcendentalist. But it is best to read the Bible and the writings of Christians spiritual masters. And way down the list read the writings and lives of the Beats. We need to be wise as serpents and harmless as doves.

Today at work I had nothing special on my mind. It is was typical Monday at work. Time went by.

Last night we went to church. Josiah made profession of faith. The pastor preached a good sermon on John 15:1-8. After church I drove Josiah back to Calvin College. I was back home by 9:35 PM. I went to bed and read some of the book "Family Business Selected Letters between a father and son allen and louis ginsberg" I did read yesterday afternoon "This Is The Beat Generation" by James Campbell for a couple of hours. The writer of this book has read a vast amount of books on the Beats, their writings etc and has woven the material into a literary history of the Beat Generation. I find it interesting what Campbell selects out (what he leaves out) of the vast material on the Beats and from their writings, letters, interviews etc. . . to set forth his personal retelling of the history of the Beat movement. I am enjoying the book and would recommend it after reading first these books "Kerouac A Biography" by Ann Charters, "Ginsberg A Biography" by Barry Miles and "Literary Outlaw: The Life And Times Of Williams S. Burroughs" by Ted Morgan. I also would recommend these books on the Beats "Naked Angels:The Lives and Literature of the Beat Generation" by John Tytell, "Off The Road: My Years With Cassady, Kerouac, And Ginsberg" by Carolyn Cassady and "Desolate Angel A Biography: Jack Kerouac, The Beat Generation, And America" by Dennis McNally.

I have no plans for evening. I do want to look at my books on baptism. Time will go by. Tomorrow will soon be here.

7:20 p.m. - 2001-11-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

freakyouout
jonathan
fragilegirl8
broken-in-nc
msjessica
poolagirl
fan4
joy-in-god
trapeze-act
oldjake
jedidiah77
silverluna
talktogod
realthoughts