glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the danger of human presumption

It is a cold gray windy afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is 67 degrees and it feels like it might rain.

I got up this morning around 6:45 AM. Weird dreams once again drove me out of bed. I am still feeling exhausted from those crazy dreams I had during the night. Does my brain ever sleep? I have a restless brain, it never stops being in a state of activity. When I came upstairs I found my wife reading the Bible.

Carol left this morning early for church. I spent the morning reading commentaries on The Epistle to the Romans and I filmed a video for my Youtube channel. Carol should be home soon from church. This afternoon we are going down the street to have dinner with our oldest son and his family/it is Mother's Day.

I read from these books today-'Exposition on the Epistle to the Romans' William of Saint Therry, 'The Letter To The Romans' [The Bible in Medieval Tradition] Ian Christopher Levy, Philip D.W. Krey, and Thomas Ryan, 'The Epistle To The Romans' [The New International Commentary On The New Testament] by John Murray and 'The Love Of Learning And The Desire For God: A Study of Monastic Culture] by Jean Leclercq, O.S.B..

Last night Carol went to bed early and I read once again late into the night, 'Journey To The South' A Novel by Michal Ajvaz Translated by Andrew Oakland.

See, sinners, in the Gospel glass,
The friend and Savior of mankind!
Not one of all the apostate race
But may in Him salvation find!
His thoughts, and words, and actions prove,
His life and death, that God is love!

Behold the Lamb of God, who bears
The sins of all the world away!
A servant’s form He meekly wears,
He sojourns in a house of clay,
His glory is no longer seen,
But God with God is man with men.

See where the God incarnate stands,
And calls His wandering creatures home,
He all day long spreads out His hands,
“Come, weary souls, to Jesus come!
Ye all may hide you in My breast,
Believe, and I will give you rest.

Ah! do not of My goodness doubt;
My saving grace for all is free;
I will in no wise cast him out
That comes a sinner unto Me;
I can to none Myself deny,
Why, sinners, will ye perish, why?"

12:31 p.m. - 2023-05-14

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act