glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the coming new creation

It is 2:13 PM Monday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is sunny and 44 degrees this afternoon. It feels somewhat like Spring this afternoon. Things as of yet have turned green. I have not seen any flowers bursting from the ground yet. Carol keeps mentioning to me she wants to get outside and do some chopping.

I got up this morning around 7:10 AM. I came upstairs to find my wife in her chair reading her books. I wrote in my paper diary and took my pills. I then made a pot of oatmeal for our morning meal. It is a blessing to have oatmeal for a meal when people have lost everything due to a tornado down in Mississippi. I contemplate with horror the idea of my library being destroyed by a tornado (or a house fire engulfing our earthly belongings). In the end we come into this world with nothing and we leave this world with nothing. All that is going to be important after death is that we have received the gift of eternal life from the Lord Jesus Christ the Savoir of sinners.

This morning after breakfast Carol and I read Calvin's Institutes for devotions and then had a time of prayer. I realize more and more if the Lord does not give me strength for the day I would be in a terrible state. I absolutely NEED the Lord Jesus to sustain me each moment of every day of my life. I need God to grant me divine grace to face living in this awful world.

I left to volunteer at the Book Nook around 9:40 AM this morning. The Book Nook was not busy today so I had time to read from a book titled, 'Union with the Resurrected Christ: Eschatological New Creation and New Testament Biblical Theology' by G. K. Beale. I did not buy any used books from the Book Nook today.

This afternoon Carol is at a funeral. Last week two of Carol's friends died and she is attending a funeral of one of those friends.

When I got home from the Book Nook I ate lunch and wrote in my paper diary. In the mail this afternoon I received a used book I had ordered titled, 'A Sand County Almanac And Sketches Here And There' By Aldo Leopold. I recently bought a used book from the Book Nook titled, 'Aldo Leopold's Odyssey Rediscovering The Author Of A Sand County Almanac' by Julianne Lutz Newton.

Last night I mainly read late into the night the novel 'Solenoid' by Mircea Cartarescu.

Well I will close to feel weary. Tomorrow is a Tuesday.

2:34 p.m. - 2023-03-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act