glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Calvinism

It is 1:26 PM Wednesday afternoon here in Western Michigan, It is 38 degrees and sunny right now outside. I am writing with the hopes this activity will keep me from falling into a coma. Carol left around 11:45 AM to prepare a meal for someone. I was reading before I fell into a coma a book titled, 'Calvin's Institutes of the Christian Religion: A Biography' by Bruce Gordon. This morning Carol and I finished reading, 'The Christian's Great Interest' by William Guthrie and we will start reading next together for devotions, 'The Institutes of the Christian Religion' by John Calvin. That should be fun! (I do not believe in FUN). Anyway I look forward to reading from start to the end Calvin's 'Institutes'. When I was in Bible College and Seminary Calvin's 'Institutes' was required reading (selections). I have told Carol for years in reading Calvin you will hear what you have heard your whole life being a professing member of Calvinistic churches (Carol grew up in the Christian Reformed Church/Conservative Dutch Calvinism). I became a Calvinist five years after the Lord Jesus saved me (the Lord saved me in the Summer August of 1970) while reading the writings of A. W. Pink and the 17th English Puritans (William Bates, Thomas Goodwin, and John Owen).

I got up this morning around 7:17 AM. When I came upstairs I found Carol reading her Bible. I made a pot of oatmeal for breakfast. After breakfast Carol and I had devotions and then she left to go for a walk at the Aquatic Center and see Josie swim/school gym class. I spent the morning reading from Volume 5 of 'The Works of William Perkins' and writing in my paper diary. So has gone by my Life Span.

I once again did not sleep soundly last night, that is why I feel so dead in the water right now.

Last night I read from these books before going to bed, 'Divine Days' A Novel by Leon Forrest and 'The Hive' A Novel by Camilo Jose Cela Translated By James Womack.

Well, the ship is sinking so I will close to drift through the rest of this day. I am not going anywhere. We are in the middle of the month of March. From now on it is all downhill.

1:52 p.m. - 2023-03-15

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act