glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Spain

It is 2:20 PM Friday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is 35 degrees and cloudy this afternoon. This morning when we woke up everything was covered in a layer of wet white fluffy snow. Now the trees are clear of snow but there is still wet slush snow on the ground.

I got up this morning around 7:15 AM. When I came upstairs I found Carol getting ready to attack the day head on. When you get our age you got to hit the road running. There is no time to slow down and smell the roses.

I made a pot of oatmeal for Carol and I to eat for a morning meal. After breakfast I wrote in my paper diary, Carol and I had devotions, and I left to volunteer at the Book Nook around 9:35 AM. No one came into the bookstore today so I mainly wandered the store and reading from a book I bought this morning titled, 'A Life Discarded: 148 Diaries Found in the Trash' Memoir by Alexander Masters.

Carol and Josie showed up around 1 o'clock PM to do their volunteer shift and I left to come home and face what may come. I bought these used books today from the Book Nook (almost all of them were library withdraws/cost me around $30.00 dollars for these old beat up used books)-

'Spain: The Centre Of The World 1519-1682' by Robert Goodwin

'The Brave Escape Of Edith Wharton: A Biography' by Connie Nordhielm Wooldridge

'Holy Terror: Andy Warhol Close Up: Insider's Portrait' by Bob Colacello

'Books Are Made Out Of Books: A Guide To Cormac McCarthy's Literary Influences' by Michael Lynn Crews

'A Life Discarded: 148 Diaries Found in the Trash' Memoir by Alexander Masters

'Cloud Cuckoo Land' A Novel by Anthony Doerr

'B & Me: A True Story of Literary Arousal' Memoir by J. C. Hallman

'Mightier Than The Sword: Uncle Tom's Cabin And The Battle For America' by David S. Reynolds

'Portrait Of A Novel: Henry James And The Making Of An American Masterpiece' by Michael Gorra

'World Without End: Spain, Philip II, and the First Global Empire' by Hugh Thomas

'The Vonnegut Encyclopedia' by Marc Leeds

'Kurt Vonnegut Letters' Edited and with an Introduction' by Dan Wakefield

'Alexis de Tocqueville: A Life' by Hugh Brogan

'Jack And Norman: A State-Raised Convict and the Legacy of Norman Mailer's The Executioner's Song' by Jerome Loving

'The Clarks of Cooperstown: Their Singer Sewing Machine Fortune & Their Great And Influential Art Collections & Their Forty-Year Feud' biography/Art History by Nicholas Fox Weber

It is now 2:27 PM and I need to get myself a cup of coffee and figure out where the wagon train is headed.

2:31 p.m. - 2023-03-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act