glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the metaphysics of Surrealism

It is 3:35 PM Friday afternoon here in West Michigan. It is 29 degrees and gray outside this afternoon. It feels like it might snow this evening. Tomorrow it has been predicted to be a sunny day.

I got up this morning around 8 o'clock AM. When I came upstairs Carol was eating oatmeal and there was some oatmeal made for me also. I ate my oatmeal while taking my morning pills. After breakfast Carol and I had devotions and then Carol left to do errands.

I left to volunteer at the Book Nook around 9:35 AM. The Book Nook (our local library used books store) was busy today, but I was able to read some Richard Sibbes Volume 2 'The Works of Richard Sibbes' and from a book titled, 'Song of Songs: A Biography' by Ilana Pardes.

I bought from the Book Nook 'The Dictionary of Art' 34 Volumes Edited by Jane Turner (they weighed a ton but I was able to get them down in the Lower Level without collapsing).

Carol showed up to do her volunteer shift around 1:10 PM. I left and on the way home I stopped at our local Goodwill to look at their used books. I found these used books at Goodwill today-

'The Way of the Shaman: A Guide to Power and Healing' by Michael Harner

'Shadowcatcher: A Journey In Search of The Teachings of Native Americans Healers' by Steve Wall

'Mason & Dixon' A Novel by Thomas Pynchon

'Pattern Recognition' A Novel by William Gibson

When I got home I found on our porch my second Princeton University Press order-

'John Calvin's Institutes of the Christian Religion: A Biography' by Bruce Gordon [Lives of Great Religious Books]

'Lectures on Dostoevsky' by Joseph Frank

'John Adams And The Fear of American Oligarchy' by Luke Maryville

'The Expanding Blaze-How the American Revolution Ignited the World, 1775-1848' by Jonathan Israel

'The Birth of Modern Belief: Faith and Judgment from the Middle Ages to the Enlightenment' by Ethan H. Shagan

'Walter Kaufmann-Philosopher, Humanist, Heretic' Biography by Stanley Corngold

3:56 p.m. - 2023-02-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act