glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the dangers of mass society

It is 2:14 PM Thursday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is 39 degrees and cloudy this afternoon. It could be worse.

I am tired as usual this afternoon. I wonder if I am getting enough sleep? Maybe me being tired is due to not exercising.

I got up this morning around 7 o'clock AM. When I came out of the Lower Level I found my wife reading the Bible. We had a normal morning so I won't repeat what I wrote yesterday. I personally like routine and do not find it boring. I have never been bored. I find life to uncertain to get bored. You never know what each day will bring. The important thing is not to be asleep when the devil attacks.

Carol and I did have devotions this morning and afterwards I got ready to go volunteer at the Book Nook. I opened the Book Nook our local library used bookstore around 10 o'clock AM. The store today was not super busy so I was able to read from a book titled, 'Dwight Madonald and the politics circle' by Gregory D. Sumner. I bought one used book at the Book Nook today titled, 'Moll Flanders' A Novel by Daniel Defoe Edited By Albert J. Rivero [A Norton Critical Edition]. Last night Amazon delivered a book I had ordered titled, 'Endless Flight: The Life Of Joseph Roth' by Keiron Pim. I read last night some more of a book titled, 'Bard, Kinetic' by Anne Waldman. I started reading last night a novel titled, 'The Great Mistake' A Novel by Jonathan Lee (Author of 'High Dive').

This evening Carol's Neighborhood Woman's Book Club meet here to discuss a book they had recently read together. Right now Carol is out doing errands. I am suppose to get two books delivered this evening by Amazon. Since I have been flushed with money due to selling my old Dodge van I have been buying books. It is easy for me to go hog wild buying books. I am a book lover.

I just realized I have not mentioned that yesterday afternoon my wife and I left our house to visit Staples Office Supply Store and to visit thrift stores in search of used books. When I have extra money I like going to Staples Office Supply Store to buy paper, pens and other office supplies like computer paper. I am always writing so I always could use some more paper and extra pens. Many years ago when I was homeless I thought as long as I could write everything down on paper everything would fall into place in the Grand Scheme of things/God's Divine Providence. Back in those far off California days I use to write up to 25 pages a day. Sad to remember when I left California back in 1978 I burned all my diaries. Well, I have down in the Lower Level stored diaries from 1978 till 1/19/2023.

I found these used books at thrift stores yesterday to ADD to my library-

'The Great Mistake' A Novel by Jonathan Lee

"Crimes In Southern Indiana: Stories' by Frank Bill

'Cathedral' A Novel by Ben Hopkins

'The Bridge of San Luis Rey And Other Novels 1926-1948' by Thornton Wilder [The Library of America]

Well, I will close to wait. Tomorrow is a Friday.

2:43 p.m. - 2023-01-19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act