glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

God knows the end from the beginning

It is 12:05 PM Wednesday afternoon here. Outside it is 38 degrees and cloudy/stone gray skies today. It has been predicted to snow this week. Thus far we have not seen much snow fall this Winter.

I got up this morning around 6:45 AM. When I came up out of the Lower Level I found my wife sitting in her living room chair reading. We are going on 44 years of marriage Carol and I. It is mystical being married to Carol for 44 years. My wife brings me joy.

I spent the morning doing the usual. I wrote in my paper diary and made myself oatmeal for breakfast. After Carol and I had breakfast we had devotions and prayed. Carol left around 9:45 AM to meet up with some cousin's on her Dad's side for an early lunch at a local restaurant. I spent the morning writing in my paper diary and reading mainly from a book titled, 'The Spiritual Life' by Campegius Vitringa Translated And Edited By Charles K. Telfer Foreword By Richard A. Muller.

Last night I mainly read from two books which I received in the mail yesterday-'Why Read: Selected Writings 2001-2021' Essays by Will Self and 'Bard, Kinetic' autobiography by Poet Anne Waldman. I also read some more of Will Self's autobiography, 'Will' last night before going to bed. I have been reading the writings of Will Self and Anne Waldman for many years.

I am suppose to get a new book delivered today by Amazon. Well, I suppose I will close to wait.

"Prayer, supplications, and thanksgivings poured out before God from a sincere heart have an excellent effect on a person's spiritual life. They mould and dispose the soul toward all kinds of good affections and praiseworthy actions. Nearness to God sanctifies the soul. A person is never nearer to God than when in prayer he rises up from earth to heaven and stands before the very presence of His throne. Speaking to God in prayer, a person holds intimate communication and exercises a secret commerce with Him. As you pray you are sanctified through nearness and communion with the glory of God, even as the face of Moses shone after he had spoken with God (Ex. 29:43; 34:29). You feel and experience that it is "good. . .to draw near to God" (Ps. 73:28). Your thoughts are purified. Your love for God is stirred up. You are led to contemplate His glory. Your mind is drawn away from earthy and perishable things and inspired to nobly seek out and generously expend itself for the great things that please God. You are able to calm yourself and restrain vain lusts and the rush of turbulent affections. In sum, a light extends through your mind and sets it aflame for the cultivation of all godliness and every virtue" pg. 116 'The Spiritual Life' by Campegius Vitringa

12:35 p.m. - 2023-01-18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act