glorycloud's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

walk each step as my final one

It is 1:10 PM Tuesday afternoon here in Western Michigan. It is another dismal rainy dark day. Maybe the sun has been destroyed? If the sun had been destroyed we would be in pitch black space. There is still light outside so the sun must still exist in our solar system.

I got up this morning around 6:13 AM. I came upstairs to find my wife reading the Bible The Word of the Living God. I did all the normal activities this morning. Carol left to have breakfast with a friend around 7:30 AM and did not get home till around 11 o'clock AM. While Carol was off wandering the American Wasteland I read, wrote in my paper diary, and filmed a video for my Youtube channel. I read this morning from a book titled, 'The Labors of A Godly And Learned Divine, William Perkins Including Presently Unpublished Sermons' by Matthew N. Payne & J. Stephen Yuille.

When Carol got home we left to go get tote bins and to the bank. So has gone by this day in American history. Carol leaves soon to go downtown to get her hair cut. I plan to drift through the afternoon hours. I am expecting a book I had ordered to be delivered by Amazon today. I ordered yesterday books since I have some extra money from selling our 1994 old Dodge van.

Last night we watched Professional Football playoffs till 9 o'clock PM. Carol went to bed and I went down into the Lower Level and read, 'The Labors of A Godly And Learned Divine, William Perkins Including Presently Unpublished Sermons' by Matthew N. Payne & J. Stephen Yuille. I also rearranged some books last night before going to bed. I put my collection of New York Review Books in a bookcase and stored the books that were on those bookshelves.

I am going to close since there is nothing more. I am not sure what I will read next since I am feeling drained.

I just remembered when Carol got home this morning we had devotions and then prayed before we left to go out into the world. We have been reading for devotions, 'The Christian's Great Interest' by William Guthrie. Carol seek always to meet each day with prayed and close each day with prayer. I believe since Carol and I have been praying more and more I have felt closer to the Lord.

Morning Dedication a Puritan prayer

As I cross the threshold of this day
I commit myself, soul, body,
affairs, friends, to thy care;
Incline my heart to thy ways;
Mould me wholly into the image of Jesus,
as a potter forms clay;
May my lips be a well-tuned harp
to sound thy praise;
Let those around see me living by thy Spirit,
tramping the world underfoot,
unconformed to lying vanities,
transformed by a renewed mind,
clad in the entire armour of God,
shining as a never-dimmed light,
showing holiness in all my doings.
Let no evil this day soil my thoughts, words, hands.
May I travel miry paths with a life pure from spot or stain.
In needful transactions let my affection be in heaven,
and my love soar upwards in flames of fire,
my gaze fixed on unseen things,
my eyes open to the emptiness of its vanities,
May I view all things in the mirror of eternity,
waiting for the coming of my Lord,
listening for the last trumpet call,
hastening unto the new heaven and earth.
Order this day all my communications
according to thy wisdom,
and to the gain of mutual good.
Forbid that I should not be profited or made profitable.
May I speak each word as if my last word,
and walk each step as my final one.
If my life should end today, let this be my best day.

from 'The Valley Of Vision: A Collection of Puritan Prayers & Devotions' Edited by Arthur Bennett

1:57 p.m. - 2023-01-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Noworry4tzl
patheticness
nikkifoofoo
catsoul
whystinger
mal-adjusted
oct0ber
browndamask
koorikaze
lobo21
tobehis
weatethesea
raven72d
newschick
jondavid2010
realthoughts
journey2one
freakyouout
fragilegirl8
msjessica
fan4
trapeze-act